Football Freshmen Arrive

June 19, 2011

Eleven football freshmen began life in Westwood on Sunday morning.

The football student-athletes went through an orientation session at Covel Commons this morning with freshmen from other sports attending summer school. They then attended a football specific session with personnel from the Athletic Department's Academic and Student Services office.

Following the orientation sessions, they were scheduled to check into their summer dorm rooms.

On Monday, the new Bruins will attend their first class, have photos taken for the game programs and website, participate in some academic testing sessions and meet with head athletic performance coach Mike Linn. Tuesday's schedule includes a Community of Learners session, another summer school class and physicals with the athletic training and medical staffs.

The 11 freshmen participating include center Jake Brendel, wide receiver Devin Lucien, running back Steven Manfro, defensive lineman Kevin McReynolds, tight end Raymond Nelson, quarterback Jerry Neuheisel, offensive lineman Will Oliver, linebacker Mike Orloff, defensive lineman Brandon Tuliaupupu, offensive lineman Torian White and offensive lineman Ben Wysocki. Offensive lineman Conor McDermott is not participating as he is planning on attending prep school this fall.

Four true freshmen - quarterback Brett Hundley, defensive tackle Sam Tai, cornerback Anthony Thompson and linebacker Aaron Wallace - and JC transfer linebacker Ryan Hofmeister all enrolled this past winter or spring and participated in Spring Practice.

BruinTV will have a video feature on the student-athletes' first day later this week.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Sep 05
vs. Virginia
Pasadena, CA
W, 34 - 16
Saturday, Sep 12
Las Vegas, NV
W, 37 - 3
Saturday, Sep 19
vs. Brigham Young
Pasadena, CA
W, 24 - 23
Saturday, Sep 26
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 56 - 30
Saturday, Oct 03
vs. Arizona State
Pasadena, CA
L, 23 - 38
Thursday, Oct 15
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
L, 35 - 56
Thursday, Oct 22
vs. California
Pasadena, CA
W, 40 - 24
Saturday, Oct 31
vs. Colorado
Pasadena, CA
W, 35 - 31
Saturday, Nov 07
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
W, 41 - 0
Saturday, Nov 14
vs. Washington State
Pasadena, CA
L, 27 - 31
Saturday, Nov 21
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 17 - 9
Saturday, Nov 28
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 21 - 40