Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
UCLA Athletics
Reed Williams (Photo by Scott Chandler)
Reed Williams Named to MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List
By: UCLA Athletics

UCLA senior forward Reed Williams has been named to the Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy Watch List for the 2013 season. Williams is among 34 players and 13 forwards on the watch list.

The senior from Newport Beach, Calif. was a third-team NSCAA All-Far West selection in 2012 and received first-team All-Pac-12 honors. He played in all 19 of UCLA’s matches last season, finishing tied for the team lead in goals with seven and second on the team in points with 18 (7 g, 4 a).

In 2011, Williams scored his only goal of the season in the second overtime of the NCAA quarterfinal match at Louisville, sending UCLA to the College Cup. As a freshman in 2010, he ranked fourth on the team in scoring with 14 points and in goals scored with five.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the highest individual award in intercollegiate soccer. The recipients are selected by head coaches of NCAA Division I programs who are members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA). Near the end of the collegiate regular season, NCAA Division I coaches that are NSCAA members will vote on their top choices and the lists will be narrowed down to the top 15. College soccer fans will also have the opportunity to participate in the selection process, as they will be able to vote for their favorite semifinalist starting in November at the MAC Hermann Trophy website.

From that pool of 30, six finalists (three men, three women) will be chosen for the award. The winners will be announced in January.

UCLA has had two MAC Hermann Trophy winners - Brad Friedel, who won the Hermann Trophy in 1992, and Sasha Victorine, who won the MAC Trophy in 1999. The two awards were unified into the MAC Hermann Trophy in 2002.
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
No recent events