Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
UCLA Athletics
Chance Myers (Photo courtesy of Sporting Kansas City)
Myers and Feilhaber Win 2013 MLS Cup with Sporting Kansas City
By: UCLA Athletics

UCLA alums Chance Myers and Benny Feilhaber won the 2013 MLS Cup with Sporting Kansas City on Sunday after Kansas City defeated Real Salt Lake, 1-1 (7-6 on PKs), at Sporting Park in Kansas City, Kans. The MLS title represents the second league championship in Sporting Kansas City history.

Both Myers and Feilhaber each started and played the full 120 minutes in the match on Sunday while also converting a penalty kick in the ensuing shootout. Overall, Myers played in 27 matches for Kansas City during the year, making 26 starts and logging two goals and three assists. Defensively, he helped the club earn 13 shutouts on the season. Myers was a two-year letterwinner at UCLA (2006-07), helping the Bruins reach the 2006 College Cup Finals and receiving first-team All-Pac-10 honors in 2007. He accumulated four goals and four assists in two seasons in Westwood before becoming the No. 1 overall pick of Kansas City in the 2008 MLS SuperDraft.

Feilhaber also played in 27 matches for Sporting Kansas City this season, making 22 starts after being traded to the club from New England in the offseason. The UCLA alum scored three goals and tallied four assists in 1,774 minutes in 2013. Like Myers, Feilhaber was a two-time letterwinner at UCLA (2003-04), scoring seven goals and logging four assists while earning second-team All-Pac-10 honors in 2004. After his UCLA playing days were over, Feilhaber enjoyed a fine career overseas before returning the to MLS in 2012. He has also seen extensive time with the U.S. Men's National Team side, earning 31 caps and participating in the 2008 Olympics and 2010 FIFA World Cup.

A total of 28 Bruins have won at least one MLS Cup as either a player or head coach. In addition, UCLA alumni have now won MLS titles in each of the last 10 years.

MLS Cup Champions from UCLA
1998 - Josh Keller, Ante Razov (Chicago Fire)
2000 - Chris Henderson, Tahj Jakins (Kansas City Wizards)
2001 - Jimmy Conrad, Zak Ibsen (San Jose Earthquakes)
2002 - Adam Frye, Kevin Hartman, Cobi Jones, Matt Reis, Pete Vagenas, Sasha Victorine, Head Coach Sigi Schmid (LA Galaxy)
2004 - Nick Rimando (DC United)
2005 - Mike Enfield, Kevin Hartman, Cobi Jones, Pete Vagenas (LA Galaxy)
2006 - Patrick Ianni, Zach Wells (Houston Dynamo)
2007 - Patrick Ianni, Zach Wells (Houston Dynamo)
2008 - Frankie Hejduk, Head Coach Sigi Schmid (Columbus Crew)
2009 - Tony Beltran, Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)
2010 - Marvell Wynne (Colorado Rapids)
2011 - Sean Alvarado, Chad Barrett, Frankie Hejduk, Brian Perk, Michael Stephens (LA Galaxy)
2012 - Kyle Nakazawa, Brian Perk, Brian Rowe, Michael Stephens (LA Galaxy)
2013 - Benny Feilhaber, Chance Myers (Sporting Kansas City)

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
No recent events