Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
UCLA Athletics
UCLA is the preseason No. 1 (photo by Scott Chandler)
UCLA Ranked Preseason No. 1 by Soccer America
By: UCLA Athletics
The UCLA men's soccer team will begin the 2014 season this weekend ranked No. 1 in Soccer America's preseason poll. The Bruins, who went 12-3-5 last season and earned the No. 1 overall seed in the NCAA Tournament, return All-Americans Leo Stolz and Earl Edwards Jr. while bringing in the nation's No. 1 recruiting class.

The Bruins have been ranked in the Top 4 in each of the other major polls, checking in at No. 2 on Top Drawer Soccer's preseason poll and No. 4 in the NSCAA rankings.

UCLA will face eight teams ranked in Soccer America's Top 25, including No. 16 Wake Forest on the road to open the season on Friday. UCLA also plays at No. 10 North Carolina on Sunday. Also on the schedule are matches against No. 4 Washington, No. 8 New Mexico, No. 13 Stanford, No. 14 California, No. 18 UC Santa Barbara and No. 25 CSUN.

In two exhibition games last week, the Bruins outscored their opponents, 15-2, defeating Nebraska Omaha, 5-2, and the Los Angeles All-Stars, 10-0. Stolz led the team in scoring in the two games with a total of eight points (2g, 4a). Kevin De La Torre had a hat trick in the Los Angeles All-Stars game, and Jordan Vale totaled two goals and one assist over the two games.

With the No. 1 ranking, the UCLA men join the UCLA women as Soccer America's top-ranked team.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Sep 04
at Maryland
College Park, MD
L, 1 - 2 (OT)
Monday, Sep 07
at Georgetown
Washington, DC
L, 1 - 3
Sunday, Sep 13
vs. UC Riverside
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2 (OT)
Friday, Sep 18
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Monday, Sep 21
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 4
Friday, Sep 25
vs. VCU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Sunday, Sep 27
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 3 (OT)
Friday, Oct 02
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 1 (2OT)
Sunday, Oct 04
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 3 - 2 (2OT)
Monday, Oct 12
vs. San Diego State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Friday, Oct 16
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2
Monday, Oct 19
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 0
Friday, Oct 23
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
T, 2 - 2
Sunday, Oct 25
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 3 - 4
Sunday, Nov 01
at Akron
Akron, OH
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Nov 06
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Sunday, Nov 08
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Saturday, Nov 14
at San Diego State
San Diego, CA
L, 0 - 1 (2OT)
Thursday, Nov 19
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 0
Sunday, Nov 22
at Seattle
Seattle, WA
L, 0 - 1