Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
Bruins Earn Pac-12 Player and Coach of the Year Honors
By: UCLA Athletics

Nov. 13, 2012

Walnut Creek, Calif. - For the second consecutive year, the UCLA men's soccer team took home Pac-12 Player and Coach of the Year honors as senior Ryan Hollingshead was named the Conference Player of the Year and Jorge Salcedo was named the Coach of the Year. The Bruins also had nine all-conference selections in 2012.

Hollingshead, Fernando Monge, Reed Williams and Leo Stolz all earned first-team All-Pac-12 honors while Victor Chavez, Matt Wiet, Evan Raynr and Joe Sofia were named to the second team. Sophomore goalie Earl Edwards received honorable mention.

Hollingshead, a senior midfielder from Granite Bay, Calif., becomes the fifth UCLA player all-time to be named Pac-12 Player of the Year, joining Kelyn Rowe (2011), Michael Stephens (2008), Patrick Ianni (2004) and Matt Taylor (2003). The senior captain leads the Bruins with 20 points (6 g, 8 a) on the year, good for third best in the conference, and is second in the conference with eight assists. Hollingshead has started all 18 matches for UCLA this year and was named to National Teams of the Week on four separate occasions. This is the third time in Hollingshead's career that he's been named to the All-Conference team after he earned second-team honors in 2011 and was named honorable mention in 2010.

Salcedo took home his second consecutive Pac-12 Coach of the Year award after leading the Bruins to their fourth conference title in five years in 2012. UCLA only dropped two matches this season, despite playing one of the toughest schedules in the country, and went undefeated on the road with an 8-0-2 mark. This is the fourth time that Salcedo has been named the Pac-12 Coach of the Year, winning the award in 2011, 2008 and 2004.

Monge enjoyed a breakout season in 2012, scoring a single-season best five goals, including two game-winners. He has also notched a career-best 11 points this season and has been a major part of the Bruins' success this year. Like Hollingshead, he has started every single match for the Bruins in 2012 and earned first-team All-Pac-12 honors for the first time in his career.

Stolz, a sophomore from Munich, Germany, transferred to UCLA from George Mason in the offseason and has been a force in the midfield, recording seven assists in his first season in the Pac-12. His seven assists are good for third best in the conference and he has also been a key contributor as a defensive midfielder for the Bruins.

Williams leads the Bruins with seven goals on the season, which is also good for a tie for third in the conference. The junior forward from Newport Beach, Calif. has also posted a single-season best 18 points (7 g, 4 a) in 2012 and had multiple goal games against Maryland on Aug. 31 and San Diego State on Oct. 12. This is the second time that Williams has made the All-Pac-12 team after he was named honorable mention as a freshman in 2010.

Raynr, a senior midfielder from Calabasas, Calif., currently leads the conference with nine assists on the season and is third on the team with 13 points (2 g, 9 a). It's the third time that he has earned All-Pac-12 honors after being named honorable mention in 2010 and 2011.

Wiet and Sofia have anchored a strong Bruin defense that has only allowed 18 goals all season. Sofia, a junior from Dove Canyon, Calif., set career bests with two goals and four assists in 2012 while also teaming with Wiet to shut down the opposition from the center back position. Sofia also leads the team in minutes and has earned All-Conference honors for the second time in his career. Wiet, a senior from Columbus, Ohio, earned second-team All-Pac-12 honors for the second straight year and is second to Sofia with 1,674 minutes.

Chavez, a junior forward from Fontana, Calif., has scored five goals in 13 matches for the Bruins thus far. He previously earned All-Pac-12 honors as a freshman in 2010 and as a sophomore in 2011. Finally, Edwards received All-Conference honors for the first time in his career after posting a 0.96 GAA and earning four shutouts in 14 matches.

2012 All-Pac-12 First Team
Ben Fisk, Sr., MF - Washington
Ryan Hollingshead, Sr., MF - UCLA
Adam Jahn, Sr., F - Stanford
Fernando Monge, RSr., MF - UCLA
Spencer Richey, Jr., GK - Washington
Tony Salciccia, Sr., MF - California
Leo Stolz, So., MF - UCLA
Dylan Tucker-Gangnes, Sr., D - Washington
Emery Welshman, Sr., F - Oregon State
Reed Williams, Jr., F - UCLA
Blake Wise, Jr., MF - San Diego State

2012 All-Pac-12 Second Team
Jose Altamirano, Sr., MF - San Diego State
Kevin Bick, Jr., MF - San Diego State
Seth Casiple, So., MF - California
Victor Chavez, Jr., F - UCLA
Hunter Gorskie, Sr., D - Stanford
Aaron Kovar, Fr., MF - Stanford
Ryan Neil, Jr., D - California
Kevin Peach, RSo., GK - California
Evan Raynr, Sr., MF - UCLA
Joe Sofia, Jr., D - UCLA
Matt Wiet, Sr., D - UCLA

2012 All-Pac-12 Honorable Mention
Dersu Abolfathi, Sr., MF - Stanford
Zach Batteer, So., F - Stanford
Stefano Bonomo, So., F - California
Christian Dean, So., D - California
Earl Edwards, RSo., GK - UCLA
Chris Harms, RSr., GK - Oregon State
JJ Koval, Jr., MF - Stanford
Jordan Ongaro, Jr., F - San Diego State
Will Seymore, So., MF - Oregon State
Khiry Shelton, So., F - Oregon State

2012 Pac-12 Player of the Year: Ryan Hollingshead, UCLA
2012 Pac-12 Coach of the Year: Jorge Salcedo, UCLA
2012 Pac-12 Freshman of the Year: Aaron Kovar, Stanford

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
No recent events