TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
UCLA Athletics
UCLA started MPSF action in Dempsey Indoor on Friday. (Courtesy of UW athletics)
UCLA Track and Field Wraps Up Day One at MPSF Championships
By: UCLA Athletics

SEATTLE, Wash. – The UCLA track and field team wrapped up day one of the MPSF Championships with some impressive performances Friday from the Dempsey Indoor Facility.

After one day of events the Bruin men sit in third with 33 points while the women are in fourth place with 26 points.

Highlighting the day for the Bruins was a victory in the pentathlon by Tatum Souza. She defended her MPSF title in the event with 3,927 points.

Also earning key points on the women’s side was Ida Storm in the weight throw. Storm recorded a mark of 65-11.50 to finish third overall. In the pole vault Natasha Kolbo tied for fourth with a 12-11.75 while Kayla Mallett tied for eighth with the same height but missed on clearances.

Faith Anumba finished eighth in the long jump with a leap of 18-0.25. In prelim action on Friday, Brea Buchanan posted the third fastest qualifying time in the 60m hurdles with an 8.45.  The women’s DMR placed fourth with a time of 11:21.77.

On the men’s side Mike Woepse won the pole vault with a clearance of 17-10.50. Alec Faldermeyer uncorked a season-best in the weight throw with a mark of 68-1.50 to finish second overall.

The DMR finished second with a time of 9:39.03. Dustin Fay was a point-scorer in the 5,000m by finishing eighth with a time of 14:07.57.

Austin Hazel placed third in the long jump with a leap of 23-4. After four events in the heptathlon Marcus Nilsson is third with 3,011 points.

Final day action will get underway tomorrow morning at 10:30 a.m., with the heptathlon 60m hurdles, women’s shot put and women’s high jump. Track events will begin at 11 a.m. with the mile. 

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Jan 16
vs. Lumberjack Team ...
Flagstaff, AZ
Recap
Friday, Jan 22
vs. DeLoss Dodds ...
Manhattan, KS
Recap
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. DeLoss Dodds ...
Manhattan, KS
Recap
Friday, Jan 29
vs. Razorback ...
Fayetteville, AR
Recap
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. Razorback ...
Fayetteville, AR
Recap
Friday, Feb 05
vs. Frank Sevigne Husker ...
Lincoln, NE
Recap
Saturday, Feb 06
vs. Frank Sevigne Husker ...
Lincoln, NE
Recap
Friday, Feb 12
vs. Husky Classic
Seattle, WA
Recap
Saturday, Feb 13
vs. Husky Classic
Seattle, WA
Recap
Saturday, Feb 20 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. Alex Wilson ...
Notre Dame, IN
Friday, Feb 26 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Championships
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Feb 27 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Championships
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Mar 05 - All Day PST
vs. Ben Brown ...
Fullerton, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Indoor ...
Birmingham, AL
Saturday, Mar 12 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Indoor ...
Birmingham, AL
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Jim Bush Collegiate ...
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Rafer Johnson/Jackie ...
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Apr 14 - All Day PST
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - All Day PST
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
Saturday, Apr 16 - All Day PST
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
Saturday, Apr 16 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Texas A&M
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Sunday, May 01 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, May 07 - All Day PST
vs. Occidental ...
Eagle Rock, CA
Saturday, May 07 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Seattle, WA
Sunday, May 08 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Seattle, WA
Saturday, May 14 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Seattle, WA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS