TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
USA Softball
Mysha Sataraka (left) and Paige McDuffee - photo courtesy of USA Softball
McDuffee and Sataraka Earn Silver at Junior World Championships
By: UCLA Athletics

UCLA Softball on Twitter
UCLA Softball on Facebook

BRAMPTON, Ontario, Canada - Paige McDuffee and Mysha Sataraka completed their run at the International Softball Federation (ISF) Junior Women's World Championship, as the USA Softball Junior Women's National Team earned a silver medal.

After Team USA completed an undefeated record during pool play to earn the top seed in the playoffs, the Red, White and Blue opened things up with a 7-0 victory over Australia on July 5. Sataraka went 2-for-3 in that contest, producing an RBI double in the first inning and a single in the fourth. McDuffee entered the game in the circle with one out in the top of the fifth. She retired one batter on a ground out, with the last out of the inning coming on a caught stealing.

The next day, Team USA earned a spot in the championship game with a 4-0 victory over Japan. Scoreless after three, the U.S. scored one in the fourth, two in the fifth and one in the seventh. Sataraka drove in the team's third run on a sacrifice fly in the fifth. McDuffee did not play.

In a re-match, Japan came through the loser's bracket to play the U.S. in the title contest on July 7. But thanks to a big inning and a subsequent downpour of rain, Team USA lost 4-0 and settled for the silver medal. Japan scored four in the fifth and the game was called in the top of the seventh after a heavy amount of rain rendered the field unplayable. McDuffee did not pitch in the game, while Sataraka had three plate appearances, getting hit by a pitch in one of them.

Sataraka started all nine games of the tournament and hit .455 (10-for-22) with a team-best three home runs and 16 runs batted in, to go with four doubles and eight runs scored.

McDuffee appeared in the circle three times, tossing 6 2/3 scoreless innings. She struck out five and gave up just three hits.

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Feb 12 - 10:15 AM PST
vs. Colorado State
College Station, TX
Friday, Feb 12 - 1:00 PM PST
at Texas A&M
College Station, TX
Saturday, Feb 13 - 10:15 AM PST
vs. Wichita State
College Station, TX
Saturday, Feb 13 - 3:15 PM PST
at Texas A&M
College Station, TX
Sunday, Feb 14 - 8:00 AM PST
vs. Colorado State
College Station, TX
Friday, Feb 19 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UCF
Cathedral City, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. Notre Dame
Cathedral City, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 5:30 PM PST
vs. Cal Poly
Cathedral City, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 9:00 AM PST
vs. LSU
Cathedral City, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 11:30 AM PST
vs. Pacific
Cathedral City, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 5:30 PM PST
vs. Florida
Cathedral City, CA
Friday, Feb 26 - 12:30 PM PST
vs. Georgia
Cathedral City, CA
Friday, Feb 26 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. BYU
Cathedral City, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 9:30 AM PST
vs. Oklahoma
Cathedral City, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - 9:00 AM PST
vs. Northwestern
Cathedral City, CA
Wednesday, Mar 02 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Michigan
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Charleston Southern
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 3:30 PM PST
vs. Syracuse
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 06 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Florida State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 06 - 3:30 PM PST
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. Mississippi State
Lakewood, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Lakewood, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 11:30 AM PST
vs. Utah Valley
Lakewood, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. Iowa State
Lakewood, CA
Sunday, Mar 13 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Princeton
Lakewood, CA
Saturday, Mar 19 - 3:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Mar 20 - 3:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Monday, Mar 21 - 4:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Thursday, Mar 24 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 25 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 26 - 12:30 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Mar 29 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Saturday, Apr 02 - 7:30 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Apr 03 - 2:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Saturday, Apr 09 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 10 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Monday, Apr 11 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 13 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 16 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - 2:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Apr 24 - 2:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Monday, Apr 25 - 7:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Friday, Apr 29 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 30 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, May 01 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, May 06 - 6:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS