TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
Bruin Players Help Team USA to 8-1 Victory Over Colombia
By: UCLA Athletics

Aug. 2, 1999

WINNIPEG, Manitoba - The USA Softball Women's National Team ran its record to 7-0 in pool play with an 8-1 victory against Colombia at the Pan American Games today at John Blumberg Softball Complex.

The USA jumped out to a 4-0 lead in the first inning when Dot Richardson (Orlando, Fla.) tripled to left field and scored on a Laura Berg (Sante Fe Springs, Calif.) double to left field. Two walks were then issued to Lisa Fernandez (Long Beach, Calif.) and Shelia Douty (Diamond Bar, Calif.) to load the bases. Christie Ambrosi (Overland Park, Kan.) then reached on a throwing error by Colombia second baseman Claudio Leon Moreno, scoring both Fernandez and Ambrosi. Michele Smith (Califon, N.J.) drove home the fourth run, plating Douty on a sacrifice fly to left field.

USA would go on to score single runs in the second, fourth, fifth and sixth innings, accounting for the team's eight runs. Berg (2-for-3, two doubles, two RBI), Douty (2-for-2, one RBI) and Richardson (2-for-4, triple, one RBI) each registered multiple-hits for the Americans. Fernandez (double), Crystl Bustos (Canyon Country, Calif.) and Leah O'Brien-Amico (Chino, Calif.) each had a single hit.

Team USA, which previously had posted 15-consecutive shutouts, allowed its first run in 100 innings of action dating back to the 1995 Pan American Games when Leon Moreno hit a two-out double to score Euginia Fernandez from first base in the second inning.

Lori Harrigan (Las Vegas, Nev.) ran her record to 2-0, pitching seven innings and allowing one run on three hits while striking out 16. Yadelcy Ramirez Florez took the loss for Colombia, allowing eight runs - five earned - on nine hits with one strikeout in six innings of work.

USA, which has captured the gold medal at the last three Pan American Games and has won 37-consecutive games in Pan Am Games competition dating back to 1987, resumes pool play Tuesday against the Bahamas at 1 p.m. and host Canada at 8 p.m.

USA 8, Colombia 1

COL  010 000 0  -   1  3  2
USA  410 111 x  -   8  9  0
     
Yadelcy Florez and A. Gellego Oke, Lori Harrigan and Shelly Stokes. 
W - Harrigan (2-0). L - Florez. 
	 
 E - COL 2 (Leon Moreno 2). DP - COL 1. LOB - COL 3, USA 8. 
2B - COL 1 (Leon Moreno), USA 3 (Berg 2, Fernandez). 3B - Richardson. 
SH - USA 1 (Berg). SF - USA 1 (M. Smith). PB - COL 1  (Gallego Oke). 
	 
RUNS - COL 1 (Fernandez), USA 8 (Richardson 2, 
       Fernandez 2, Berg, Douty, O'Brien-Amico, Stokes).
EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Feb 12 - 10:15 AM PST
vs. Colorado State
College Station, TX
Friday, Feb 12 - 1:00 PM PST
at Texas A&M
College Station, TX
Saturday, Feb 13 - 10:15 AM PST
vs. Wichita State
College Station, TX
Saturday, Feb 13 - 3:15 PM PST
at Texas A&M
College Station, TX
Sunday, Feb 14 - 8:00 AM PST
vs. Colorado State
College Station, TX
Friday, Feb 19 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UCF
Cathedral City, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. Notre Dame
Cathedral City, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 5:30 PM PST
vs. Cal Poly
Cathedral City, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 9:00 AM PST
vs. LSU
Cathedral City, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 11:30 AM PST
vs. Pacific
Cathedral City, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 5:30 PM PST
vs. Florida
Cathedral City, CA
Friday, Feb 26 - 12:30 PM PST
vs. Georgia
Cathedral City, CA
Friday, Feb 26 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. BYU
Cathedral City, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 9:30 AM PST
vs. Oklahoma
Cathedral City, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - 9:00 AM PST
vs. Northwestern
Cathedral City, CA
Wednesday, Mar 02 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Michigan
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Charleston Southern
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 3:30 PM PST
vs. Syracuse
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 06 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Florida State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 06 - 3:30 PM PST
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. Mississippi State
Lakewood, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Lakewood, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 11:30 AM PST
vs. Utah Valley
Lakewood, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. Iowa State
Lakewood, CA
Sunday, Mar 13 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Princeton
Lakewood, CA
Saturday, Mar 19 - 3:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Mar 20 - 3:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Monday, Mar 21 - 4:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Thursday, Mar 24 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 25 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 26 - 12:30 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Mar 29 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Saturday, Apr 02 - 7:30 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Apr 03 - 2:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Saturday, Apr 09 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 10 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Monday, Apr 11 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 13 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 16 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - 2:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Apr 24 - 2:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Monday, Apr 25 - 7:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Friday, Apr 29 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 30 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, May 01 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, May 06 - 6:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS