TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
UCLA Athletics
Marcos Giron downed Mico Santiago of the USA in straight sets on Wednesday in Calabasas.
Giron Reaches Second Round in Calabasas
By: UCLA Athletics
Calabasas, Calif. - UCLA's Marcos Giron won his opening-round singles match at the USTA Men's Pro Tennis Championships of Calabasas on Wednesday. He is one of five players with UCLA ties competing at this week's event at the Calabasas Tennis & Swim Center.

Giron, a junior from nearby Thousand Oaks, Calif. advanced to the second round following a 6-2, 6-4 win over the USA's Mico Santiago. His opponent in the second round will be Mitchell Krueger, also of the USA. Krueger got in the way of an all-Bruin meeting on Thursday, as he upset second-seeded Nick Meister, 6-4, 7-6(6) in their first-round encounter. The Giron and Krueger showdown will be the second match on center court on Thursday THURSDAY ORDER OF PLAY.

Bruin senior Clay Thompson received a wild card into the event, falling in the opening round to former Michigan standout third-seeded Jason Jung, 6-3 6-7(2) 6-3. Former UCLA player Dennis Novikov also lost in the first round to Ryan Agar of Australia, 6-3, 3-6, 6-4.

Former UCLA player Jeff Gast was also competing in Calabasas, falling to Andres Zepeda of Mexico in the first round of qualifying.

More information about this week's tournament can be found here: ITFTennis.com.

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 08
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 4 - 0
Sunday, Apr 10
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 4 - 0
Thursday, Apr 14
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Sunday, Apr 17
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Stanford
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. California
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Friday, May 13
vs. Weber State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Saturday, May 14
vs. San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Friday, May 20
vs. Stanford
Tulsa, OK
W, 4 - 2
Sunday, May 22
vs. Oklahoma
Tulsa, OK
L, 3 - 4
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS