TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
UCLA Athletics
Freshman Mackenzie McDonald was a straight-set winner in Eugene on Saturday (Photo: Don Liebig).
Fifth-Ranked Men's Tennis Team Shuts Out Oregon, 4-0
By: UCLA Athletics
Eugene, Ore. - The fifth-ranked UCLA men's tennis team capped off a successful trip to the Pacific Northwest on Saturday, downing No. 27 Oregon, 4-0 at the Student Tennis Center in Eugene. The win comes just a day after the Bruins (15-2; 2-0 Pac-12) downed Washington, 4-1 in Seattle.

Oregon (14-3; 0-2 Pac-12) was able to strike first in Saturday's contest, taking an 8-5 at No. 2 doubles to put the Bruins on their heels early. UCLA, however, responded with victories at court Nos. 1 and 3 to eventually claim the point. The Bruins notched the clinching win at court No. 1, where Marcos Giron and Karue Sell edged Robin Cambier and Kevin Farin, 8-7(2).

UCLA then came out in singles to take first sets at all six positions. A quick 6-4, 6-4 victory by top-ranked Clay Thompson at court No. 1 got things started for the Bruins. Thompson's win was followed by two more straight-set victories, this time by Gage Brymer (court No. 4) and Mackenzie McDonald (court No. 3) to give UCLA an insurmountalbe 4-0 lead. Giron, Sell and Joseph Di Giulio were all up a set at their respective courts when play was suspended.

UCLA returns to the Los Angeles Tennis Center next week, hosting No. 16 Cal and Stanford on Friday and Saturday, respectively.

UCLA 4, Oregon 0
Mar 29, 2014 at Eugene, OR (Student Tennis Center)

Doubles
1. Giron/Sell (UCLA) def. Cambier/Farin (ORE) 8-7(2)
2. Maasland/Swaysland (ORE) def. Di Giulio/Thompson (UCLA) 8-5
3. Brymer/McDonald (UCLA) def. Amos/Sardu (ORE) 8-6
UCLA Wins Doubles Point
Singles
1. #1 Clay Thompson (UCLA) def. Kevin Farin (ORE) 6-4, 6-4
2. #103 Robin Cambier (ORE) vs. #6 Marcos Giron (UCLA) 3-6, 5-2, unfinished
3. #33 Mackenzie McDonald (UCLA) def. Daan Maasland (ORE) 6-1, 7-5
4. #73 Gage Brymer (UCLA) def. Daniel Sardu (ORE) 6-4, 6-0
5. Joey Swaysland (ORE) vs. #83 Karue Sell (UCLA) 4-6, 2-4, unfinished
6. Jayson Amos (ORE) vs. Joseph Di Giulio (UCLA) 6-7(5), 1-2, unfinished
Match Notes
UCLA 15-2; 2-0 Pac-12; National ranking #5
Oregon 14-3; 0-2 Pac-12; National ranking #27
Order of finish: Doubles (2,3,1); Singles (1,4,3)
EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. Bruin Racqueteer Day
Los Angeles, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. NCTC Tournament
Palm Springs, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Sherwood Collegiate ...
Thousand Oaks, CA
-
Wednesday, Jan 20
vs. San Francisco
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
LIVE NOW
vs. Tennis Championships ...
Maui, HI
-
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. SMU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Sunday, Jan 24
vs. Georgia Tech
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
LIVE NOW
vs. Tennis Championships ...
Dallas, TX
-
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. Georgia
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
LIVE NOW
vs. Florida
Los Angeles, CA
-
Friday, Feb 05
vs. San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Tuesday, Feb 09
at Virginia
Charlottesville, VA
L, 1 - 6
Friday, Feb 12 - 9:00 AM PST
vs. Georgia
Charlottesville, VA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Tuesday, Mar 01 - 2:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Mar 03 - All Day PST
vs. Pacific Coast ...
La Jolla, CA
Thursday, Mar 10 - 2:30 PM PST
vs. Baylor
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 1:00 PM PST
at UNLV
Las Vegas, NV
Friday, Mar 25 - 5:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Mar 27 - 12:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Friday, Apr 01 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 08 - 1:30 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Apr 10 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, Apr 17 - 3:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 20 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS