TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
UCLA Athletics
Junior Chanelle Van Nguyen's NCAA Singles run came to an end on Saturday in Georgia (Photo: Scott Chandler)
Van Nguyen Falls in NCAA Quarterfinals
By: UCLA Athletics
Athens, Ga. - Junior men's tennis player Marcos Giron punched his ticket to the semifinals of the NCAA Singles draw on Saturday and is the last UCLA tennis player still alive in this year's NCAA Individual Championships, which concludes on Monday at Georgia's Dan Magill Tennis Complex. On the women's side, junior Chanelle Van Nguyen suffered a quarterfinal singles loss on Saturday.

Giron, the tournament's No. 2 seed, lost just four games in a 6-1, 6-3 victory over Cal's Ben McLachlan. With the win, Giron will take on 9-16 seeded Soren Hess-Olesen of Texas on Sunday (not before 1:30 p.m. EST). Hess-Olesen ruined UCLA's hopes of an all-Bruin semifinal when he knocked out freshman Mackenzie McDonald, 5-7, 7-6(3), 6-3 in Saturday's quarterfinals.

"I felt like I played a really good match out there," said Giron of his quarterfinal win. "This is the first time I've beat Ben, and so coming into the match I knew it was going to be a tough one. I'm really happy with the way I played. I served well, took care of my serve, didn't get broken, and so I think that could have a been a big difference in the match. I was just taking good care of my serve and putting pressure on him early on."

The other half of the men's draw features Pepperdine's Alex Sarkissian taking on Harvard's Denis Nguyen. Like Giron, both Sarkissian and Nguyen are from Southern California, giving the SoCal Section three of four semifinalists.

Van Nguyen started strong but ultimately suffered a 3-6, 6-3, 6-4 loss to Duke's Ester Goldfeld. That loss concludes the teams involvement in this year's tournament as both second-seeded Robin Anderson and eighth-seeded Jennifer Brady lost on Friday.

A live video stream of Sunday's quarterfinals can be accessed HERE. For more information about the tournament, visit the University of Georgia's Tournament Central Page.

NCAA Singles & Doubles Championships
Dan Magill Tennis Complex (Athens, Ga.)

Men's Quarterfinal Singles (May 24)
(2) Marcos Giron def. Ben McLachlan (Cal), 6-1, 6-3
(9-16) Soren Hess-Olesen (Texas) def. Mackenzie McDonald, 5-7, 7-6(3), 6-3

Men's Semifinal Singles (May 25)
(2) Marcos Giron vs. (9-16) Soren Hess-Olesen (Texas) - Not before 1:30 p.m. (EST)

Women's Quarterfinal Singles
Ester Goldfeld (Duke) def. (9-16) Chanelle Van Nguyen, 3-6, 6-3, 6-4

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. National Collegiate ...
Palm Desert, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Freeman Memorial ...
Las Vegas, NV
-
Friday, Jan 22
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. Fresno State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 4
Friday, Jan 29
vs. Saint Mary's
Pacific Palisades, CA
W, 6 - 1
Sunday, Feb 07
vs. Northwestern
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
Saturday, Feb 13 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 13 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 18 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Baylor
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 1:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 12:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Fresno State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 26 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 12:30 PM PST
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
Sunday, Apr 03 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Friday, Apr 08 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 3:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 20 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - TBA PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS