TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
Anderson and Morton Fall in NCAA Doubles Final
By: UCLA Athletics

May 27, 2013

Urbana, Ill. - UCLA came up just short in its bid to claim a doubles championship on Monday afternoon, as sophomores Robin Anderson and Skylar Morton fell to USC's Kaitlyn Christian and Sabrina Santamaria in straight sets in the NCAA Final at the University of Illinois' Khan Outdoor Tennis Complex.

NCAA Tournament Central | NCAA Doubles Draw

Anderson and Morton, unseeded in the 32-team doubles draw, had a tough task on their hands in Monday's final, as Christian and Santamaria were the tournament's second-seeded duo. After dropping the first set 6-4, Anderson and Morton hung in there until the eighth game of the second set when, with Morton serving at 3-4, USC broke at love to take a 5-3 lead. Santamaria then served out the match in the very next game, giving USC a 6-4, 6-3 victory.

Christian and Santamaria will likely receive a doubles wild card into this summer's U.S. Open in Flushing, N.Y., as the USTA traditionally awards wild cards to Americans who win NCAA titles.

Anderson and Morton were looking to become UCLA's seventh team to win an NCAA Doubles title and first since 2008 when Tracy Lin and Riza Zalameda won the event in Tulsa, Okla.

UCLA ranks second all-time in NCAA doubles titles with six. Only Stanford, which has won eight titles since 1982, has won more.

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. National Collegiate ...
Palm Desert, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Freeman Memorial ...
Las Vegas, NV
-
Friday, Jan 22
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. Fresno State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 4
Friday, Jan 29
vs. Saint Mary's
Pacific Palisades, CA
W, 6 - 1
Sunday, Feb 07
vs. Northwestern
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
Saturday, Feb 13 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 13 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 18 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Baylor
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 1:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 12:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Fresno State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 26 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 12:30 PM PST
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
Sunday, Apr 03 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Friday, Apr 08 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 3:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 20 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - TBA PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS