TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
UCLA Athletics
Chanelle Van Nguyen helped UCLA to a 5-2 win over No. 6 USC on Friday.
Third-Ranked Bruins Dispatch of No. 6 USC, 5-2
By: UCLA Athletics
LOS ANGELES - For the second time this season the third-ranked UCLA women's tennis team dispatched of cross-town rival No. 6 USC, as the Bruins notched a 5-2 road victory over the Women of Troy at the Marks Tennis Stadium on the campus of USC on Friday. With the win, UCLA improves to 11-1 on the season, having also defeated USC, 4-0 at the ITA National Team Indoors back on Feb. 8 in Charlottesville, Va.

Friday's doubles point featured four of the top teams in the nation, with top-ranked Robin Anderson and Jennifer Brady of UCLA leading the way. The Bruin duo clinched the point for UCLA at court No. 1, where they downed sixth-ranked Giuliana Olmos and Zoe Scandalis, 8-6. Prior to that victory, UCLA's 11th-ranked Catherine Harrison and Kyle McPhillips took care of business at court No. 2, pulling off a slight upset over eighth-ranked Brynn Boren and Zoe Katz, 8-3.

Similar to doubles, UCLA got off to a great start in singles play on Friday, posting first set wins on five of six courts. Harrison breezed in her match with Kaitlyn Christian and court No. 5, losing just one game in a 6-1, 6-0 victory to put the Bruins ahead 2-0. Not long after Harrison's win, UCLA found itself up 3-0 following another straight set performance, this time by Brady, who downed Olmos, 6-3, 6-1 at the No. 3 spot.

McPhillips would get the honor of clinching UCLA's victory at the No. 4 position, where she was a 6-3, 6-3 winner over Zoe Katz.

Chanelle Van Nguyen was the final winner for UCLA on the day, downing Boren, 6-2, 6-4 at court No. 2. The Women of Troy (9-3) claimed their two points on the day with victories from Gabriella DeSimone and Zoe Scandalis at court Nos. 6 and 1, respectively.

The Bruins have the weekend off before hosting No. 18 Baylor on Monday at the Los Angeles Tennis Center. First serve is scheduled for 1:30 p.m.

#3 UCLA 5, #6 USC 2
Mar 07, 2014 at Los Angeles, CA (Marks Tennis Stadium)

Doubles
1. #1 Anderson/Brady (UCLA) def. #6 Olmos/Scandalis (USC) 8-6
2. #11 Harrison/McPhillips (UCLA) def. #8 Boren/Katz (USC) 8-3
3. Christian/DeSimone (USC) vs. Courtney Dolehide/Van Nguyen (UCLA) 5-7, unfinished
UCLA Wins Doubles Point
Singles
1. #30 Zoe Scandalis (USC) def. #3 Robin Anderson (UCLA) 3-6, 6-3, 7-6(1)
2. #9 Chanelle Van Nguyen (UCLA) def. Brynn Boren (USC) 6-2, 6-4
3. #19 Jennifer Brady (UCLA) def. #65 Giuliana Olmos (USC) 6-3, 6-1
4. #36 Kyle McPhillips (UCLA) def. #80 Zoe Katz (USC) 6-3, 6-3
5. #50 Catherine Harrison (UCLA) def. Kaitlyn Christian (USC) 6-1, 6-0
6. Gabriella DeSimone (USC) def. Kaitlin Ray (UCLA) 6-4, 6-2
Match Notes
UCLA 11-1; National ranking #3
USC 9-3; National ranking #6
Order of finish: Doubles (2,1); Singles (5,3,4,6,2,1)
EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. National Collegiate ...
Palm Desert, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Freeman Memorial ...
Las Vegas, NV
-
Friday, Jan 22
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. Fresno State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 4
Friday, Jan 29
vs. Saint Mary's
Pacific Palisades, CA
W, 6 - 1
Sunday, Feb 07
vs. Northwestern
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
Saturday, Feb 13 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 13 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 18 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Baylor
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 1:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 12:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Fresno State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 26 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 12:30 PM PST
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
Sunday, Apr 03 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Friday, Apr 08 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 3:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 20 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - TBA PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS