UCLA Downs Stanford

October 10, 1998

LOS ANGELES -- The second-ranked UCLA men's soccer team won its Mountain Pacific Sports Federation opener 1-0 over Stanford in front of a home crowd of 1,184. The win extended UCLA's consecutive regular season home victories streak to 24, the second-longest streak in NCAA history.

Sophomore defender Carlos Bocanegra (Alta Loma, Calif.) scored the game's only goal in the 14th minute, taking a Shaun Tsakiris (Saratoga, Calif.) corner kick and heading it into the goal past Stanford keeper Adam Zapala.

Bocanegra and the Bruin defense held the Cardinal at bay for the rest of the game. UCLA goalkeeper Nick Rimando (Montclair, Calif.) made a career high-tying six saves on the night, including an amazing save in the 11th minute.

Stanford's Corey Woolfolk stole a Bruin pass and had a breakaway opportunity with Rimando backtracking. Although he slipped once while back-pedaling to the net, Rimando managed to get a fingertip on a Woolfolk shot, tipping it wide of the goal.

The Cardinal had another opportunity to score in the final minutes of the game, but a Lee Morrison goal was ruled invalid due to a handball call.

UCLA runs its record to 8-1, 1-0 in the MPSF. Stanford drops to 7-3, 0-1 in the MPSF. UCLA's next home game will be Sunday, Oct. 11 at the North Athletic Field at 2:00 pm. The Bruins will face California, the last team to defeat UCLA at home, in 1996. Stanford will travel to Sacramento State Sunday, Oct. 11 to play the Hornets at 4:00 pm.

Game Summary - UCLA vs. Stanford
                    1st 2nd F
Stanford (7-3, 0-1) 0   0   0
UCLA (8-1, 1-0)     1   0   1

Shots - Stanford - 12 (Simon Elliott - 6); UCLA - 13 (4 players - 2)
Corner Kicks - Stanford - 4; UCLA - 8
Fouls - Stanford - 16; UCLA - 18
Cautions - Stanford (Jamie Clark, 81:00); UCLA (Shaun Tsakiris, 38:42)
Saves - Adam Zapala, Stanford - 3; Nick Rimando, UCLA - 6

Scoring Summary
Team    Goal by Assist      Time
UCLA    Carlos Bocanegra    Shaun Tsakiris      13:31

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Aug 29
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
(25-19, 25-21, 25-16)
Sunday, Aug 30
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
(15-25, 23-25, 27-29)
Friday, Sep 04 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. American University
Honolulu, HI
Saturday, Sep 05 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Iowa
Honolulu, HI
Sunday, Sep 06 - 8:00 PM PST
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
Friday, Sep 11 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. San Diego
Santa Barbara, CA
Saturday, Sep 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. SMU
Santa Barbara, CA
Sunday, Sep 13 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
Friday, Sep 18 - 10:00 AM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Friday, Sep 18 - 7:30 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Wednesday, Sep 23 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Sep 27 - 12:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Friday, Oct 02 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 04 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 09 - 5:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, Oct 11 - 11:00 AM PST
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
Friday, Oct 16 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 18 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 23 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Oct 25 - 12:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Friday, Oct 30 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 11:00 AM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Wednesday, Nov 04 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 06 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Nov 12 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 15 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 20 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Sunday, Nov 22 - 11:00 AM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Wednesday, Nov 25 - 8:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 27 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS