Women's Volleyball Wins Sands Regency/SBC Invitational

Sept. 3, 2005

Final Stats

RENO, NEVADA - The 13th-ranked UCLA women's volleyball team completed its opening weekend of play with a 3-0 record as the Bruins posted Saturday wins over No. 18 San Diego and host school Nevada, along with a Friday win over Eastern Kentucky. Colby Lyman was named the Tournament MVP while Nana Meriwether was also named to the All-Tournament team.

In the opening match of the day, UCLA posted a 24-30, 32-30, 30-21, 30-27 victory over 18th-ranked Nevada. Both Meriwether and Lyman posted double-figure kills in the match with Meriwether leading the way with 16 and Lyman following with 12 kills and 13 digs. The Bruins hit .171 as a team for the match as opposed to San Diego's .098 on the evening, despite being out-dug 70-43 and out-blocked 15-12.

In the nightcap against host school Nevada, the Wolfpack gave UCLA a run for its money but the Bruins pulled out a 30-26, 22-30, 30-26, 29-31, 16-14 victory in front of 503 fans at the Virgina Street Gym on Nevada's campus.

The Bruins had four players with double-figure kills in the match, including Katilin Sather with 20 kills and 10 digs, Nana Meriwether with 14 kills and 11 blocks (one solo, 10 assists), Rachell Johnson who had 13 kills, six digs and three blocks, and Colby Lyman who had 11 kills and 12 digs in the contest.

For the weekend, Lyman posted 29 kills and 33 digs with nine block assists and four aces, while Meriwether had 38 kills and 16 blocks for the tournament. The Bruin pair was joined on the All-Tournament Team by Christie Dawson and Kristen Carlson of San Diego, Liz Guard of Eastern Kentucky and Nevada's Salia Salve'a and Carly Sorensen.

UCLA returns to action on Thursday night at the Waikiki Beach Marriott Challenge in Honolulu, Hawaii. The Bruins will face Cal State Northridge, Cincinnati and host school Hawai'i during tournament action.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Aug 29
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
(25-19, 25-21, 25-16)
Sunday, Aug 30
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
(15-25, 23-25, 27-29)
Friday, Sep 04 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. American University
Honolulu, HI
Saturday, Sep 05 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Iowa
Honolulu, HI
Sunday, Sep 06 - 8:00 PM PST
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
Friday, Sep 11 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. San Diego
Santa Barbara, CA
Saturday, Sep 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. SMU
Santa Barbara, CA
Sunday, Sep 13 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
Friday, Sep 18 - 10:00 AM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Friday, Sep 18 - 7:30 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Wednesday, Sep 23 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Sep 27 - 12:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Friday, Oct 02 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 04 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 09 - 5:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, Oct 11 - 11:00 AM PST
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
Friday, Oct 16 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 18 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 23 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Oct 25 - 12:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Friday, Oct 30 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 11:00 AM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Wednesday, Nov 04 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 06 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Nov 12 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 15 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 20 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Sunday, Nov 22 - 11:00 AM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Wednesday, Nov 25 - 8:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 27 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS