Seven Volleyball Players Earn All-Pac-10 Honors

Nov. 23, 1999

WALNUT CREEK, Calif - The Pacific-10 Conference women's volleyball postseason awards were announced on Tuesday by Pac-10 Commissioner Tom Hansen, and seven UCLA Bruins were among the honorees.

Four Bruins were named to the 12-member All-Pac-10 Team, including junior middle blocker Elisabeth Bachman (Lakeville, MN/Lakeville HS), sophomore outside hitter Ashley Bowles (Manhattan Beach, CA/Mira Costa HS), sophomore outside hitter Kristee Porter (Tyler, TX/John Tyler HS) and sophomore setter Erika Selsor (Linden, CA/Linden).

Bachman currently leads the conference in hitting percentage and blocks per game, while Selsor leads the Pac-10 in assists per game and Porter is the only player in the conference averaging more than 5.00 kills per game. Bachman, Bowles and Porter were all named to the 1998 All-Pac-10 team as well.

Senior middle blocker Tamika Johnson (Indianapolis, IN/Cathedral HS) and junior defensive specialist Michelle Quon (Dana Point, CA/Dana Hills HS) were named to the Honorable Mention All-Pac-10 team, and Lauren Fendrick (Carlsbad, CA/Carlsbad HS) was honored as a member of the six-player Pac-10 All-Freshman Team.

UCLA, which completed conference play as Co-Champions with Stanford, led the league in All-Pac-10 Team honorees, with four. The Bruins seven total selections were just one behind the Cardinal, who had four players honored on the honorable mention team.

The sixth-ranked Bruins are 25-2 (17-1 Pac-10) for the 1999 season, and conclude their regular season on Tuesday night at No. 10 Pepperdine. The field for the NCAA Championship will be announced on Sun., Nov. 28, and the Bruins are expected to be named as an at-large selection.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Aug 29
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
(25-19, 25-21, 25-16)
Sunday, Aug 30
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
(15-25, 23-25, 27-29)
Friday, Sep 04
vs. American University
Honolulu, HI
(25-19, 25-19, 25-18)
Saturday, Sep 05
vs. Iowa
Honolulu, HI
(25-20, 25-16, 25-13)
Sunday, Sep 06
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
(25-16, 25-27, 25-17, 28-26)
Friday, Sep 11
vs. San Diego
Santa Barbara, CA
(25-13, 24-26, 25-21, 25-23)
Saturday, Sep 12
vs. SMU
Santa Barbara, CA
(25-20, 25-22, 25-16)
Sunday, Sep 13
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
(25-19, 27-25, 25-23)
Friday, Sep 18
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
(25-23, 25-17, 25-21)
Friday, Sep 18
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
(25-20, 19-25, 25-17, 25-14)
Wednesday, Sep 23
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
(22-25, 12-25, 19-25)
Sunday, Sep 27
at California
Berkeley, CA
(25-20, 27-25, 25-16)
Friday, Oct 02
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
(29-31, 16-25, 15-25)
Sunday, Oct 04
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
(25-20, 25-18, 30-28)
Friday, Oct 09 - 5:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, Oct 11 - 11:00 AM PST
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
Friday, Oct 16 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 18 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 23 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Oct 25 - 12:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Friday, Oct 30 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 11:00 AM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Wednesday, Nov 04 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 06 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Nov 12 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 15 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 20 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Sunday, Nov 22 - 11:00 AM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Wednesday, Nov 25 - 8:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 27 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Dec 04 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA First Round
Saturday, Dec 05 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
Friday, Dec 11 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Regional ...
Saturday, Dec 12 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Regional ...
Thursday, Dec 17 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA National ...
Omaha, NE
Saturday, Dec 19 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA National ...
Omaha, NE