UCLA To Participate In State Farm Women's Volleyball Classic

Feb. 20, 2000

WILMINGTON, N.C. -- The National Association of Collegiate Women Athletic Administrators is pleased to announce the selected host and teams for the Sixth Annual State Farm Women's Volleyball Classic. The 2000 State Farm Women's Volleyball Classic presented by NACWAA will be held on Friday and Saturday, August 25 and 26 at the University of Florida in Gainesville, FL. Joining Florida in the State Farm Women's Volleyball Classic will be the University of California-Los Angeles, Colorado State University and Pennsylvania State University -- the national defending champions.

NACWAA and State Farm Insurance Companies teamed up in 1995 to offer the first Volleyball Classic, which was held at the University of Nebraska. A crowd of more than 7,300 fans were on hand to watch the inaugural event in women's volleyball. Since 1995 the Classic has been held at Illinois State (96), Stanford University (97), University of New Mexico (98) and University of Nebraska (99).

"We are very excited to have the University of Florida host the Volleyball Classic. This will be the first time the Classic has been held in the east. The opportunity to rotate the Classic around the country enables fans in many locations to see national championship level competition", stated Jennifer Alley, Executive Director of NACWAA.

Pairings and the television broadcast schedules are incomplete but will be announced this spring. "State Farm is proud to sponsor the Classic with these top volleyball teams competing. We will be able to bring strong volleyball to the local community, and reach other fans on ESPN and ESPN2", commented Richard Bugajski, Advertising Director for State Farm Insurance Companies.

Previous champions of the Classic are Stanford University (95), University of Hawaii (96), Pennsylvania State University (97), Long Beach State University (98), and University of the Pacific (99).

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Thursday, Nov 12
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
(25-17, 17-25, 25-27, 25-23, 12-15)
Sunday, Nov 15
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
(25-18, 25-19, 25-27, 25-19)
Friday, Nov 20
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
(25-22, 22-25, 19-25, 28-26, 15-10)
Sunday, Nov 22
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
(22-25, 27-29, 27-25, 25-21, 10-15)
Wednesday, Nov 25
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
(25-18, 17-25, 25-19, 12-25, 15-12)
Friday, Nov 27
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
(18-25, 25-22, 25-20, 21-25, 11-15)
Friday, Dec 04
vs. Lipscomb
Los Angeles, CA
(25-10, 25-22, 25-15)
Saturday, Dec 05
vs. Michigan
Los Angeles, CA
(23-25, 24-26, 25-22, 25-20, 15-11)
Friday, Dec 11
at Texas
Austin, TX
(25-23, 22-25, 10-25, 20-25)