TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
Volleyball Falls to Santa Clara
By: UCLA Athletics

Sept. 16, 1998

Box Score

SANTA CLARA, Calif. - Despite facing its first unranked opponent of the season, the UCLA women's volleyball team continued to look for its first victory of the season as Santa Clara defeated UCLA 3-1 (15-11, 15-6, 10-15, 15-13) in a non-conference volleyball match at Toso Paviliion. With the loss, the Bruins drop to 0-6 on the year.

Sophomore Elisabeth Bachman led the charge for UCLA as she hit .556, led the team with 17 kills and also had a hand on seven blocks. Rookies Ashley Bowles and Kristee Porter each registered double-doubles. Bowles recorded 16 kills and 11 digs, while Porter added 12 kills, 10 digs and touched five blocks. Senior defensive specialist Mandi Lawson provided a career-high 11 digs. Santa Clara was led by junior Laura Echolds' match-high 20 kills and had four players reach double figures.

Santa Clara jumped out to early leads en route to winning the first two games. In the first UCLA rallied from a 1-7 deficite to tie the game at 11 all, before Santa Clara closed out the scoring. Santa Clara led the entire way in game two, but the momentum turned UCLA's way for game-three as the Bruins took an early 9-3 lead and held on for the 15-10 win. In game four, UCLA took an 8-2 lead and led 10-5. But Santa Clara rallied to score the next nine points and take a 14-10 lead. UCLA closed the gap to 14-13, before the Broncos could close out the match.

                    1    2    3    4    5
UCLA  (0-6)        11    6   15   13    x
Santa Clara (6-1)  15   15   10   15    x
EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Aug 29
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
(25-19, 25-21, 25-16)
Sunday, Aug 30
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
(15-25, 23-25, 27-29)
Friday, Sep 04 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. American University
Honolulu, HI
Saturday, Sep 05 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Iowa
Honolulu, HI
Sunday, Sep 06 - 8:00 PM PST
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
Friday, Sep 11 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. San Diego
Santa Barbara, CA
Saturday, Sep 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. SMU
Santa Barbara, CA
Sunday, Sep 13 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
Friday, Sep 18 - 10:00 AM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Friday, Sep 18 - 7:30 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Wednesday, Sep 23 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Sep 27 - 12:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Friday, Oct 02 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 04 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 09 - 5:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, Oct 11 - 11:00 AM PST
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
Friday, Oct 16 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 18 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 23 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Oct 25 - 12:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Friday, Oct 30 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 11:00 AM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Wednesday, Nov 04 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 06 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Nov 12 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 15 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 20 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Sunday, Nov 22 - 11:00 AM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Wednesday, Nov 25 - 8:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 27 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS