Sage Spears the Spartans in Sweep

Sept. 2, 2010

Box Score
Women's Volleyball Media Guide Now Available Online
Follow UCLA Athletics on Twitter | UCLA Athletics on Facebook

SAN JOSE, Calif. - Junior Sara Sage tied a career high with 11 kills, hitting a personal-best .667 with just one error in 15 swings, as the 14th-ranked Bruins swept San Jose State on Thursday at the SJSU/SMC Tournament at Spartan Gym. Set scores were 25-13, 25-18, 25-17.

Sophomore Rachael Kidder added nine kills for the Bruins, who improve to 3-1 on the season. Two Bruins had perfect nights, as freshman Kelly Reeves recorded seven kills and no errors in 12 swings (.583 percentage), while senior Dicey McGraw tallied six kills and zero miscues in 11 attacks (.545). Junior Lauren Van Orden was one dig shy of a double-double with 36 assists and nine digs, while junior Lainey Gera produced 13 digs. The Bruins out-hit the Spartans (0-5) .378 to .156.

The Bruins never trailed in the opening set. Tied at one, UCLA scored the next five to go ahead 6-1. Sage had a kill, which was followed by back-to-back San Jose State attack errors, an ace by Reeves and a kill by Kidder. After a Spartan sideout, Sage, McGraw and Van Orden had consecutive kills, followed by a SJSU attack error, to make it 10-2. UCLA's lead reached double figures for the first time at 14-4 after a Reeves spike.

The Bruins' biggest advantage of the set was 12 on three occasions. UCLA was up 18-10 when it scored five of the next six to go ahead 23-11. Kidder had a kill, which was followed by back-to-back aces from sophomore Bojana Todorovic. After a Spartan sideout, McGraw had a kill and senior Amber McBenttez served the Bruins' fourth ace of the set to make the lead a dozen. UCLA clinched the set on a McGraw kill to win it 25-13. McGraw had four kills in the first, Sage added three and Kidder, Reeves, Van Orden and freshman Mariana Aquino had two apiece. UCLA out-hit San Jose State .407 to .077.

San Jose State held an early advantage by as many as two at 5-3, but UCLA made a run and kept the lead for the rest of the set. Down 6-5, the Bruins received a kill from Sage, a Spartan attack error and a McGraw ace to go ahead 8-6. One sideout later, Reeves had back-to-back spikes and a kill by Kidder made it 11-7.

The Spartans closed to within one on a pair of occasions, but the Bruins held on to post a 25-18 victory. UCLA led by as many as seven on three occasions. With the score 17-15, the Bruins scored six of the next seven to take a 23-16 advantage. Aquino had a solo and combo block during the run, Sage had a kill and Van Orden posted an ace. The Bruins won the set on a kill by sophomore Mari Hole. Sage led the way in the second with four kills, while Kidder and Reeves had three apiece. UCLA out-hit the Spartans .273 to .125.

The Bruins led from start to finish in the third set. On top 5-4, the Bruins scored three straight on back-to-back kills from Sage and a spike by Reeves to make it 8-4. San Jose State cut the margin to a pair at 13-11, but UCLA went on a 3-0 run on consecutive kills by Hole and Sage and a Sage/Van Orden combo roof to go ahead 16-11.

The Spartans again cut their deficit to two at 17-15, but the Bruins finished the match by scoring eight of the final 10 points to win it 25-17. Kidder had three kills and a block during the last run, as UCLA won the match on a San Jose State service error. Kidder, Hole and Sage each had four kills in the third set. The Bruins out-hit the Spartans .467 to .156.

The Bruins continue play at the SJSU/SMC Tournament on Friday against Saint Mary's at 5 p.m.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Aug 29
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
(25-19, 25-21, 25-16)
Sunday, Aug 30
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
(15-25, 23-25, 27-29)
Friday, Sep 04
vs. American University
Honolulu, HI
(25-19, 25-19, 25-18)
Saturday, Sep 05
vs. Iowa
Honolulu, HI
(25-20, 25-16, 25-13)
Sunday, Sep 06
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
(25-16, 25-27, 25-17, 28-26)
Friday, Sep 11
vs. San Diego
Santa Barbara, CA
(25-13, 24-26, 25-21, 25-23)
Saturday, Sep 12
vs. SMU
Santa Barbara, CA
(25-20, 25-22, 25-16)
Sunday, Sep 13
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
(25-19, 27-25, 25-23)
Friday, Sep 18
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
(25-23, 25-17, 25-21)
Friday, Sep 18
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
(25-20, 19-25, 25-17, 25-14)
Wednesday, Sep 23
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
(22-25, 12-25, 19-25)
Sunday, Sep 27
at California
Berkeley, CA
(25-20, 27-25, 25-16)
Friday, Oct 02
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
(29-31, 16-25, 15-25)
Sunday, Oct 04
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
(25-20, 25-18, 30-28)
Friday, Oct 09
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
(17-25, 25-12, 25-15, 25-16)
Sunday, Oct 11
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
(26-24, 25-15, 25-19)
Friday, Oct 16
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
(25-16, 25-18, 25-22)
Sunday, Oct 18
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
(25-21, 25-16, 30-28)
Friday, Oct 23
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
(25-22, 19-25, 28-26, 29-27)
Sunday, Oct 25
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
(25-16, 25-21, 19-25, 23-25, 15-5)
Friday, Oct 30
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
(25-13, 25-20, 23-25, 25-16)
Sunday, Nov 01
at Washington
Seattle, WA
(20-25, 26-24, 15-25, 20-25)
Wednesday, Nov 04
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
(25-23, 26-24, 25-17)
Friday, Nov 06
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
(25-16, 25-20, 21-25, 25-16)
Thursday, Nov 12
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
(25-17, 17-25, 25-27, 25-23, 12-15)
Sunday, Nov 15
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
(25-18, 25-19, 25-27, 25-19)
Friday, Nov 20
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
(25-22, 22-25, 19-25, 28-26, 15-10)
Sunday, Nov 22
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
(22-25, 27-29, 27-25, 25-21, 10-15)
Wednesday, Nov 25
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
(25-18, 17-25, 25-19, 12-25, 15-12)
Friday, Nov 27 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Dec 04 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA First Round
Saturday, Dec 05 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
Friday, Dec 11 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Regional ...
Saturday, Dec 12 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Regional ...
Thursday, Dec 17 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA National ...
Omaha, NE
Saturday, Dec 19 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA National ...
Omaha, NE