TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
UCLA Athletics
Cody Poteet (Photo by Scott Chandler)
Poteet Earns More Weekly Honors After 13-Strikeout Performance
By: UCLA Athletics

After receiving National Player of the Week honors from Collegiate Baseball/Louisville Slugger yesterday, sophomore right-hander Cody Poteet received more weekly honors today, being named the Pac-12 Pitcher of the Week and one of NCAA.com's National Players of the Week.

Poteet had a career day for the Bruins on Sunday, tossing a complete shutout and striking out 13 in UCLA’s 5-0 win over Michigan. The Bonita, Calif. native was phenomenal, allowing just two hits and no walks in his complete game shutout. Poteet struck out at least one hitter in every inning he pitched and also set a new career-high with his 13 strikeouts. In addition, his 13 strikeouts were the most by a UCLA pitcher since Trevor Bauer struck out 14 Fresno State batters on June 4, 2011. Poteet also threw the first complete game shutout by a UCLA pitcher since Nick Vander Tuig shut out Washington on March 16 of last year.

In the Bruins' three games at the USA Baseball-Irish Classic this weekend, UCLA’s starting pitchers combined to throw 25 shutout innings, allowing just six hits and three walks while striking out 27. Additionally, UCLA’s pitchers as a group have now allowed only one run in their last 31.2 innings pitched.

This is Poteet’s first-career Pac-12 Pitcher of the Week nod and is the 65th pitcher honoree overall for the Bruins. 

The Bruins (7-4), ranked No. 13 in the most recent Baseball America poll, return home tonight to face Loyola Marymount (4-7) at 6 p.m. out at Jackie Robinson Stadium.

2014 Pac-12 Pitchers of the Week
Feb. 18 – Daulton Jefferies, Fr., RHP, CAL
Feb. 25 – Nick Green, Sr., LHP, UTAH
Mar. 4 –  Cody Poteet, So., RHP, UCLA

 

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Apr 01
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 1 - 9
Saturday, Apr 02
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 2 - 8
Sunday, Apr 03
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 3 - 5
Tuesday, Apr 05
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Thursday, Apr 07
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Friday, Apr 08
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 8
Tuesday, Apr 12
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Friday, Apr 15
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 1 - 0
Saturday, Apr 16
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 7 - 8
Sunday, Apr 17
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 4 - 7
Tuesday, Apr 19
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
W, 10 - 6
Thursday, Apr 21
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 3
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 1
Tuesday, Apr 26
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
L, 7 - 10
Friday, Apr 29
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 6
Saturday, Apr 30
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 9
Sunday, May 01
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 10 - 3
Tuesday, May 03
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
W, 11 - 10
Friday, May 06
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 4
Saturday, May 07
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
W, 4 - 1
Sunday, May 08
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 1
Tuesday, May 10
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Friday, May 13
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 5
Saturday, May 14
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 3
Sunday, May 15
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 9
Tuesday, May 17
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 4
Friday, May 20
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 12
Saturday, May 21
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 2
Sunday, May 22
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 10
Friday, May 27
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 1
Saturday, May 28
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 3
Sunday, May 29
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 6
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS