TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
UCLA Athletics
Cody Regis with Jennie Finch, Lisa Leslie and UNC's Kara Cannizzaro and Crystal Dunn at the ESPYS
Cody Regis Talks About His ESPYS Experience
By: UCLA Athletics

Last night I had the privilege of being able to represent UCLA at the 2013 ESPYS and I wanted to share some of my experiences with the UCLA community. Overall it was one of the coolest things I have ever had the chance to do in my life and I can’t thank both UCLA and Capital One enough for allowing me to go to the awards show.

We started off the day by being dropped off at the JW Marriott at LA Live and hanging out in the lobby with the Capital One representatives. It was really interesting to just kind of stand there in the hotel lobby and see all of these famous athletes and celebrities up close as they walked by on their way to the red carpet. After awhile, Jennie Finch and Lisa Leslie came down to meet with myself and North Carolina representatives, Kara Cannizzaro and Crystal Dunn, and I had the opportunity to chat briefly with them and take a picture with them and the Capital One Cup. Needless to say, it was a great way to kick off an awesome night.

Perhaps the coolest part of the day for me was getting to walk down the red carpet during the pre-show. The emcee called my name out, and as I walked down I got my picture taken by a bunch of media members and even had the chance to do a few interviews towards the end. Once we got inside for the show to start, I saw that our seats were just five rows from the stage and was amazed at how close we were. I ended up sitting right behind Orioles third baseman Manny Machado and just a seat away from ESPN’s Stuart Scott. It was incredible being this close to all of these famous people.

During the show, it was a thrill to be shown on the broadcast and again be able to represent the UCLA men’s athletic teams for all of their great accomplishments during the year. When they showed the highlights of the Capital One Cup winners it was especially awesome to hear a ton of cheers from the balcony when they talked about our NCAA Championship in baseball. After a couple of hours at the post party and checking out the scene there, we decided to call it a night, capping off an experience I will never forget.

Once again, I just want to thank both UCLA and Capital One for allowing me the chance to be a part of this special night and to represent the school at this event. It is something I will remember forever and I hope that future UCLA players behind me will have the same opportunity to represent the school as I did.

Go Bruins!

-Cody Regis

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. Alumni Game
Los Angeles, CA
-
Friday, Feb 19 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Feb 23 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 26 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - 1:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Tuesday, Mar 01 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
Wednesday, Mar 02 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. NC Dinos
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Mississippi State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Oklahoma
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 06 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Mar 08 - 2:00 PM PST
at CSUN
Northridge, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 13 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 18 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 19 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 20 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Mar 24 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Friday, Mar 25 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Saturday, Mar 26 - 1:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Tuesday, Mar 29 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 7:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 6:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Apr 03 - 1:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Tuesday, Apr 05 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Apr 07 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 08 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Apr 12 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Apr 16 - 1:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 1:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Tuesday, Apr 19 - 3:00 PM PST
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Apr 26 - 7:30 PM PST
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
Friday, Apr 29 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Saturday, Apr 30 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, May 01 - 6:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Tuesday, May 03 - 6:00 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Friday, May 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, May 07 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Sunday, May 08 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, May 10 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS