TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
UCLA Athletics
Assistant Coach Jake Silverman with former UCLA shortstop Pat Valaika (Photo by Don Liebig)
UCLA Baseball to Host Youth Catching Camp on February 1
By: UCLA Athletics

The UCLA baseball program will host a youth catching clinic (Boys grades 2-7) on Saturday, Feb. 1 at UCLA's Jackie Robinson Stadium. Assistant coach Jake Silverman will lead the clinic.

The clinic will feature one-on-one instruction with Silverman in all aspects of catching fundamentals: footwork, balls in the dirt, making all of the throws, plate blocking, pitch calling, and defending the bunt. The clinic will take place from 4-6 p.m. at Jackie Robinson Stadium.

In 2013, UCLA’s catchers handled a pitching staff that posted a team ERA of 2.55, which ranked second in the Pac-12 and sixth-best nationally. UCLA's catchers were even better in the postseason, committing only one error and handling a pitching staff that allowed 14 runs in 10 games. This performance helped lead the Bruins to their first NCAA Championship in program history in 2013.

Under the guidance of Silverman in 2012, UCLA's catchers handled a pitching staff that finished second in the Pac-12 in ERA (3.13) and strikeouts (436). Catchers Tyler Heineman and Trevor Brown combined to throw out 19 of 33 base stealers (57.6 percent) in 64 games while Heineman earned All-Pac-12 honors. Both Heineman and Brown went on to be drafted in the 8th and 10th rounds respectively of the 2012 MLB Draft by the Houston Astros and San Francisco Giants respectively.

The cost of the two-hour camp is $60 per person, and is open to boys currently in grades 2-7. For more information or to enroll, please click here. Prospective campers are encouraged to sign up early, as space is limited.

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. Alumni Game
Los Angeles, CA
-
Friday, Feb 19 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Feb 23 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 26 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - 1:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Tuesday, Mar 01 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
Wednesday, Mar 02 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. NC Dinos
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Mississippi State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Oklahoma
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 06 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Mar 08 - 2:00 PM PST
at CSUN
Northridge, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 13 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 18 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 19 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 20 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Mar 24 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Friday, Mar 25 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Saturday, Mar 26 - 1:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Tuesday, Mar 29 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 7:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 6:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Apr 03 - 1:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Tuesday, Apr 05 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Apr 07 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 08 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Apr 12 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Apr 16 - 1:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 1:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Tuesday, Apr 19 - 3:00 PM PST
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Apr 26 - 7:30 PM PST
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
Friday, Apr 29 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Saturday, Apr 30 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, May 01 - 6:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Tuesday, May 03 - 6:00 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Friday, May 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, May 07 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Sunday, May 08 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, May 10 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS