Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
Final Four Will Again Be One Tough Ticket
By: UCLA Athletics

March 12, 2001

MINNEAPOLIS (AP) - Good luck to those looking for Final Four tickets.

By the end of the month, most of the 46,000 seats in the Metrodome will be long gone - sold to the powerful and connected.

"It's the hottest ticket for any sporting event in America with the possible exception of the Masters," said Bill Lester, executive director of the Metropolitan Sports Facilities Commission.

The public did have a chance at seats last summer. About 113,000 fans paid $2 each to enter the random drawing for 10,000 tickets.

Because of the NCAA's national lottery for tickets, almost all the spectators at the Final Four are tourists. Ninety percent of ticket-holders will be visiting the Dome for the first time.

The NCAA also has set aside 18,000 tickets to be divided evenly among the four teams that make it into the semifinals. Those games will be March 31, with the winners meeting for the title April 2.

At Minnesota, the host school, many administrators and donors got a shot at the university's allocation of 1,500 tickets.

The Twin Cities Organizing Committee, which was formed to coordinate the Final Four event, received about 5,600 tickets.

In addition, 4,000 tickets went to NCAA schools across the country for presidents and athletic directors, and 4,000 went to the National Association of Basketball Coaches, which is holding its annual convention in Minneapolis on the same weekend.

The balance, about 5,000, went to the NCAA, which sells the tickets to its corporate sponsors, CBS Sports and other media.

At face value, tickets that include all three games go for $120, $140 or $160 depending on location. Tickets already are being sold on the Internet for up to $680 each.

While it's illegal to sell tickets in Minnesota for more than face value, ticket brokers say those willing to look around - and pay from $400 to $9,000 per seat - could wind up with tickets.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Oct 30
vs. Cal State Los ...
Los Angeles, CA
W, 95 - 57
Friday, Nov 13
vs. Monmouth
Los Angeles, CA
L, 81 - 84 (OT)
Sunday, Nov 15
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
W, 88 - 83
Thursday, Nov 19
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 81 - 67
Monday, Nov 23
vs. UNLV
Lahaina, HI
W, 77 - 75
Tuesday, Nov 24
vs. Kansas
Lahaina, HI
L, 73 - 92
Wednesday, Nov 25
vs. Wake Forest
Lahaina, HI
L, 77 - 80
Sunday, Nov 29 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Dec 03 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Kentucky
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Dec 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Dec 12 - 7:00 PM PST
at Gonzaga
Spokane, WA
Tuesday, Dec 15 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Louisiana-Lafayette
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Dec 19 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. North Carolina
Brooklyn, NY
Tuesday, Dec 22 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. McNeese State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Jan 01 - 8:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Jan 03 - 6:30 PM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Thursday, Jan 07 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 09 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Jan 13 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Jan 20 - 8:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Saturday, Jan 23 - 1:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Thursday, Jan 28 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 30 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 04 - 7:30 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 12 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Feb 14 - 5:30 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Thursday, Feb 18 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA