TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
UCLA To Return 45% Of Its 1999 NCAA Men's Basketball Tournament Revenue
By: UCLA Athletics

June 30, 2000

As the final step associated with the JaRon Rush student-athlete reinstatement case, the NCAA has ruled that UCLA must return to the Association 45 percent of its share of revenue from its participation in the 1999 NCAA Division I Men's Basketball Tournament -- $45,321. The NCAA's Division I Championship/Competition Cabinet released its ruling today.

"The decision by the Championship/Competition Cabinet was not unexpected," said Peter T. Dalis, UCLA Director of Athletics. "We were aware that this was the last step of the JaRon Rush case and that we would have to return a portion of our share from the 1999 NCAA Tournament. The University had no knowledge of JaRon's actions which caused him to be ineligible and the Cabinet agreed, requiring us to return just 45 percent of the money we received by participating in the 1999 Tournament.

"We now have closure on the matter and can move on."

On March 11, 1999, UCLA lost in the first round of the NCAA tournament to the University of Detroit Mercy, earning one participant unit. Rush, then a freshman, participated in that contest. One unit is valued at $100,800. Forty-five percent of one 1999 unit was valued at $45,321, the amount that UCLA must return to the NCAA.

Nine months after the loss to Detroit Mercy, on Dec. 10, 1999, UCLA suspended Rush while the university investigated him for possible NCAA violations. On Feb. 1, 2000, UCLA was informed by the NCAA that Rush had been suspended one half-season (15 games) for receiving money from an agent ($200) and one season (29 games) for accepting benefits ($6,525) from a non-scholastic coach (AAU) prior to his enrollment at UCLA. UCLA filed an appeal on the second penalty of Feb. 17, 2000. On Feb. 28, 2000, UCLA was informed that Rush's 29-game suspension had been reduced to nine. In all during the 1999-2000 season, Rush played in the first three contests, missed the next 24 and played in the final six games.

In June, UCLA filed a report to the Division I Championship/Competition Cabinet in accordance with NCAA bylaws. According to those bylaws, if the Cabinet felt that an institution knew or should have known about the use of an ineligible player, it could call for the return of up to 90 percent of the revenue. It was UCLA's stance that the institution, at the time of the 1999 NCAA Tournament game, did not know, nor should it have known, about any NCAA rules violation with regard to Rush.

The Cabinet agreed with UCLA and has now required the return of the lesser amount -- $45,321. UCLA is not subject to further NCAA sanctions because of the student-athlete's action.

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Nov 15
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
W, 88 - 83
Thursday, Nov 19
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 81 - 67
Monday, Nov 23
vs. UNLV
Lahaina, HI
W, 77 - 75
Tuesday, Nov 24
vs. Kansas
Lahaina, HI
L, 73 - 92
Wednesday, Nov 25
vs. Wake Forest
Lahaina, HI
L, 77 - 80
Sunday, Nov 29
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
W, 77 - 45
Thursday, Dec 03
vs. Kentucky
Los Angeles, CA
W, 87 - 77
Sunday, Dec 06
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 83 - 76
Saturday, Dec 12
at Gonzaga
Spokane, WA
W, 71 - 66
Tuesday, Dec 15
vs. Louisiana-Lafayette
Los Angeles, CA
W, 89 - 80
Saturday, Dec 19
vs. North Carolina
Brooklyn, NY
L, 76 - 89
Tuesday, Dec 22
vs. McNeese State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 67 - 53
Friday, Jan 01
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 93 - 96 (2OT)
Sunday, Jan 03
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
L, 78 - 85
Thursday, Jan 07
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
W, 87 - 84
Saturday, Jan 09
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 81 - 74
Wednesday, Jan 13
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 75 - 89
Wednesday, Jan 20
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
W, 82 - 73
Saturday, Jan 23
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
L, 72 - 86
Thursday, Jan 28
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
L, 84 - 86
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 83 - 50
Thursday, Feb 04
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 61 - 80
Friday, Feb 12
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 75 - 81
Sunday, Feb 14 - 5:30 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Thursday, Feb 18 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 6:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:30 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Wednesday, Mar 02 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 3:30 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Mar 09 - All Day PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Thursday, Mar 10 - All Day PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Friday, Mar 11 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Friday, Mar 11 - 8:30 PM PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Saturday, Mar 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Tuesday, Mar 15 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA First Four
Dayton, OH
Thursday, Mar 17 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA First Round
TBA
Saturday, Mar 19 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
TBA
Thursday, Mar 24 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regional ...
TBA
Saturday, Mar 26 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regional ...
TBA
Saturday, Apr 02 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA National ...
Houston, TX
Monday, Apr 04 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA National ...
Houston, TX
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS