Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
Tradition, Tradition
By: UCLA Athletics

March 21, 2001

PHILADELPHIA - Southern California coach Henry Bibby is well aware that the Trojans are surrounded in the NCAA tournament's East Regional by three programs with far greater basketball heritages.

Among them, Kentucky, UCLA and Duke have won 20 national championships. USC has won none.

"Everybody looks at the other three," said Bibby, who played at UCLA. "We're like the little spoke in a broken wheel. We look forward to the challenge."

PRESSURE STAYS ON: Keith Bogans went from one of the most successful high school basketball programs in America to one of the most successful college teams.

Bogans played his high school ball for Hall of Fame coach Morgan Wooten at DeMatha Catholic, annually one of the top teams in the country. Then he moved on to the heritage of Kentucky basketball.

"It's the same in both places," he said. "They're not used to losing. They want to win everything. It was an easy transition from DeMatha."

TRADITION, TRADITION: UCLA point guard Earl Watson knows all about the Bruins' history of excellence and relishes playing for a school that has won 11 national championships, including 10 in 12 years under coach John Wooden.

"For me, those championships and those banners mean a lot," Watson said. "Just for the simple fact that you have coach Wooden's influence on our program. He comes to every home game and sits behind the bench and the relationship we've established with him means a lot."

HELP WANTED: Coaches come and coaches go but at Duke, Mike Krzyzewski is a constant. Coach K came to Duke 26 years ago and never left.

"I wish I had a long-term plan when I got to Duke," he said. "I was 32 and I wanted to survive. The longer I was there, the more I knew it was even better than that.

"Times have really changed. I am an older coach. Over the years, I have had a good number of feelers, especially in the pro ranks, but I have tried not to make them public. I think it's more difficult now to keep that information from becoming public. I think you need to be more discrete, but it's definitely different now. Nobody wants me."

TOUGH START: When Kentucky began the season 3-5, the pressure was on the Wildcats and coach Tubby Smith.

"It's always tough when you're losing," Smith said. "One loss is tough, but when you are 3-5 ... I hasdn't been that since my first year at Tulsa ... so it was tough. For me, it was a matter of just weathering the storm, and hoping that the players would contine to trust and believe in the coaching staff."

Saul Smith, the coach's son and Kentucky's point guard, said his father made some adjustments to get through the tough times.

"He's always handled it well," Saul Smith said. "He handled it the way he has always handled criticism. He knows his team. When things aren't going the way they should be ... he is going to make some changes."

AP Sports Writer

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Oct 30
vs. Cal State Los ...
Los Angeles, CA
W, 95 - 57
Friday, Nov 13
vs. Monmouth
Los Angeles, CA
L, 81 - 84 (OT)
Sunday, Nov 15
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
W, 88 - 83
Thursday, Nov 19
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 81 - 67
Monday, Nov 23
vs. UNLV
Lahaina, HI
W, 77 - 75
Tuesday, Nov 24
vs. Kansas
Lahaina, HI
L, 73 - 92
Wednesday, Nov 25
vs. Wake Forest
Lahaina, HI
L, 77 - 80
Sunday, Nov 29 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Dec 03 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Kentucky
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Dec 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Dec 12 - 7:00 PM PST
at Gonzaga
Spokane, WA
Tuesday, Dec 15 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Louisiana-Lafayette
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Dec 19 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. North Carolina
Brooklyn, NY
Tuesday, Dec 22 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. McNeese State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Jan 01 - 8:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Jan 03 - 6:30 PM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Thursday, Jan 07 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 09 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Jan 13 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Jan 20 - 8:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Saturday, Jan 23 - 1:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Thursday, Jan 28 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 30 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 04 - 7:30 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 12 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Feb 14 - 5:30 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Thursday, Feb 18 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 6:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA