Ellis Named NSCAA/adidas Coach of the Year

Jan. 19, 2001

Indianapolis, Ind. -- UCLA women's soccer coach Jillian Eliis received the highest honor in collegiate soccer on Friday when she was named the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) / adidas Coach of the Year at the NSCAA National Convention in Indianapolis, Ind.

In only her second season as head coach at UCLA, Ellis guided the Bruins to their first-ever Final Four appearance in 2000, falling to North Carolina, 2-1 in the finals of the College Cup in San Jose. UCLA ended the season with its highest ranking in the eight-year history of the program as the Bruins finished at No. 2 in the final rankings with a 19-4-1 overall record.

Ellis, who is also the head coach the Under-21 U.S. National Team, is the first UCLA women's coach, and the first coach from the Pac-10, to receive this honor.

Past NSCAA / adidas National
Coaches of the Year (Women Div. I)
1982 Anson Dorrance, North Carolina
1983 David Lombardo, Keene State College
1984 Philip Picince, Brown University
1985 Kalenkeni M. Banda, UMass
1986 Anson Dorrance, North Carolina
1987 Kalenkeni M. Banda, UMass
1988 Larry Gross, NC State
1989 Austin Daniels, Hartford
1990 Lauren Gregg, Virginia
1991 Greg Ryan, Wisconsin-Madison
1992 Bill Hempen, Duke
1993 Jac Cicala, George Mason
1994 Chris Petrucelli, Notre Dame
1995 Chris Petrucelli, Notre Dame
1996 John Walker, Nebraska
1997 Len Tsantiris, Connecticut
1998 Becky Burleigh, Florida
1999 Patrick Farmer, Penn State
2000 Jillian Ellis, UCLA

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
No recent events