Top-Seeded Bruins Blank Mississippi Valley State, 9-0

Nov. 11, 2005

Box Score

LOS ANGELES - The top-seeded UCLA women's soccer team (18-1-2) moved one step closer in its quest for a national championship Friday, posting a 9-0 victory over Mississippi Valley State in an NCAA First Round match at UCLA's Drake Stadium. The Bruins advance to the second round and will face Colorado on Sunday at 1:00 p.m. The Buffaloes defeated UC Riverside on penalty kicks later Friday evening. With the loss, Mississippi Valley State ends its season 10-8-2 overall.

UCLA, which set a school record for most goals scored against a Division-I opponent, tallied its first goal in just the fifth minute of the match on a shot from freshman McCall Zerboni. From that point on the Bruins went on an offensive tear, as six different players found the back of the net, with senior Iris Mora and freshman Kara Lang each putting in two goals apiece.

As impressive as the Bruins' offense was, UCLA's defense was equally as dominant, tying the school record for shots allowed with zero. UCLA out-shot Mississippi Valley State, 27-0 on the evening.

Mississippi Valley State goalkeeper Maria Del Guercio finished with nine saves, making several diving stops on a number of Bruin scoring opportunities.

The Bruins move their unbeaten streak to 16 in a row, posting their 14th shutout of the season in the process. If UCLA wins on Sunday, it will tie the single-season school record for consecutive games unbeaten at 17.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Sep 04
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2
Sunday, Sep 06
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2
Friday, Sep 11
at Wake Forest
Winston-Salem, NC
W, 2 - 1
Sunday, Sep 13
at North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC
L, 1 - 3
Thursday, Sep 17
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Friday, Sep 25
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Thursday, Oct 01
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 1 - 2
Sunday, Oct 04
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
L, 2 - 4
Friday, Oct 09
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 1
Sunday, Oct 11
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
T, 1 - 1 (2OT)
Saturday, Oct 17
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 1 - 2
Friday, Oct 23
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Sunday, Oct 25
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Thursday, Oct 29
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 0 - 7
Sunday, Nov 01
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
L, 0 - 2
Friday, Nov 06
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 2