TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
UCLA Athletics
Kodi Hill
Bruins Sink Anteaters, 6-5
By: UCLA Athletics
Sophomore Kodi Hill’s steal in the waning seconds sealed third-ranked UCLA’s 6-5 victory at No. 5 UC Irvine Thursday at the Anteater Aquatics Center.

With the clocking ticking in the final half minute and UC Irvine running its offense, Hill made a steal to lift the Bruins to a key one-point victory in an important regional match-up on the road.

The victory was the Bruins’ (12-1) 19th straight in the series against the Anteaters (9-4).

UCLA freshman Mackenzie Barr scored the game-winner with 1:36 remaining to cap a three-goal fourth period that enabled the Bruins to overcome a 4-3 deficit entering the final quarter. Hill scored at 6:35 to tie the score at 4. But the Anteaters’ Jessy Cardey answered with her second goal of the night to give the hosts a 5-4 lead. UCLA All-American Rachel Fattal countered with a goal at 4:03 to tie the score at 5 before Barr’s winner hit the net a few minutes later.

UCI’s Hillary Estrada put the hosts in front first with an extraman goal at 6:39 in the opening period. UCLA junior Emily Donohoe equalized at 4:07.

After a goal by Barr at 6:40 in the second quarter, the ‘Eaters responded twice on goals by Cardey and Hannah Croghan to take a 3-2 lead at halftime.

In the third quarter, the Bruins tied the score on a goal by Donohoe at 5:34 before the ‘Eaters reestablished the lead on a goal by Mckenna Mitchell.

To access the complete 2014 UCLA women’s water polo schedule click here.

UCLA 6, UC Irvine 5
UCLA (1, 1, 1, 3—6)
SJSU (1, 2, 1, 1—5)
Goals: UCLA (Emily Donohoe, Mackenzie Barr-2, Rachel Fattal, Kodi Hill-1). UCI (Jessy Cardy-2, Hannah Croghan, Mkenna Mitchell, Hillary Estrada-1 )
Saves UCLA (Sami Hill-7); UCI (Jillian Yocum-6)

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. Hawai'i
Santa Barbara, CA
W, 13 - 8
Saturday, Jan 23
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
W, 8 - 5
Sunday, Jan 24
vs. Long Beach State
Santa Barbara, CA
W, 11 - 4
Sunday, Jan 24
vs. Michigan
Santa Barbara, CA
W, 11 - 7
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. USA Scrimmage
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 13
Saturday, Feb 13 - 8:30 AM PST
vs. Sonoma State
San Diego, CA
Saturday, Feb 13 - TBA PST
vs. Loyola Marymount or ...
San Diego, CA
Sunday, Feb 14 - TBA PST
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Sunday, Feb 14 - TBA PST
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Friday, Feb 19 - 7:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - TBA PST
vs. UC Irvine ...
Irvine, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - TBA PST
vs. UC Irvine ...
Irvine, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - TBA PST
vs. UC Irvine ...
Irvine, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - TBA PST
vs. UC Irvine ...
Irvine, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 10:50 AM PST
vs. Loyola Marymount
Ann Arbor, MI
Saturday, Mar 05 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. George Washington
Ann Arbor, MI
Sunday, Mar 06 - 7:40 AM PST
at Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
Sunday, Mar 06 - 1:40 PM PST
vs. Bucknell
Ann Arbor, MI
Sunday, Mar 20 - 1:00 PM PST
at CSU Bakersfield
Bakersfield, CA
Friday, Mar 25 - 5:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. San Jose State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 03 - 12:15 PM PST
vs. Redlands
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 03 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Pomona-Pitzer
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 1:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - 3:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - 11:30 AM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 29 - All Day PST
vs. MPSF Championships
Bakersfield, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS