TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
UCLA Athletics
Danielle Ferraro
Visiting UCLA Defeats Hawaii, 5-4
By: UCLA Athletics
Junior Danielle Ferraro scored twice to lead second-ranked UCLA past No. 10 Hawaii, 5-4 Saturday night in women’s water polo action at the Duke Kahanamoku Aquatic Complex.

Ferraro scored once each in the first and second quarters as the Bruins built a 3-1 halftime lead en route to their 20th victory in 22 games this season. Hawaii, which lost its third straight game, fell to 13-8.

Ferraro teamed with junior Emily Donohoe in the first quarter to give the Bruins a 2-0 lead. After Hawaii’s Paula Esforzado scored at 3:31 of the second quarter, Ferraro scored at with 2:16 remaining to give the Bruins a two-goal cushion at the break.

UCLA scored twice in the third quarter on goals by sophomores Rachel Fattal (6:08) and Alys Williams (2:01). Goals by Hawaii’s Emily Carr (5:46) and Esforzado (0:01) narrowed UCLA’s lead to 5-3.

For the first time this season, the Bruins failed to score in the fourth quarter. Esforzado scored her third goal at 5:13, but the Bruins held on for their fifth straight victory. Goalkeeper Sami Hill made 10 saves for the Bruins, three in the final period. Hill stuffed shots on goal in the final minute by UH’s Claire Nixon and Caity Lopes da Silva.

Saturday’s Boxscore
UCLA 5, Hawaii 4
UCLA (2, 1, 2, 0—5)
Hawaii (0, 1, 2, 1—4)
Goals: UCLA (Danielle Ferraro-2, Alys Williams, Rachel Fattal, Emily Donohoe-1 ). Hawaii (Paula Esforzado-3, Emily Carr-1))
Saves UCLA (Sami Hill-10); Hawaii (Amy Carlson-5)

 

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Feb 27
vs. San Diego State
Newport Beach, CA
W, 6 - 5
Saturday, Feb 27
vs. Michigan
Newport Beach, CA
W, 14 - 8
Sunday, Feb 28
vs. Hawai'i
Irvine, CA
W, 10 - 6
Sunday, Feb 28
vs. USC
Irvine, CA
L, 7 - 10
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Loyola Marymount
Ann Arbor, MI
W, 17 - 4
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. George Washington
Ann Arbor, MI
W, 22 - 5
Sunday, Mar 06
at Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
W, 9 - 5
Sunday, Mar 06
vs. Bucknell
Ann Arbor, MI
W, 20 - 5
Sunday, Mar 20
at CSU Bakersfield
Bakersfield, CA
W, 6 - 1
Friday, Mar 25
at California
Berkeley, CA
W, 4 - 3
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. San Jose State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 6
Sunday, Apr 03
vs. Redlands
Los Angeles, CA
W, 23 - 2
Sunday, Apr 03
vs. Pomona-Pitzer
Los Angeles, CA
W, 25 - 3
Saturday, Apr 09
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 8
Friday, Apr 15
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 16 - 6
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 8 (3OT)
Friday, Apr 29
at CSU Bakersfield
Bakersfield, CA
W, 10 - 3
Saturday, Apr 30
vs. Stanford
Bakersfield, CA
L, 3 - 6
Sunday, May 01
vs. California
Bakersfield, CA
W, 7 - 5
Friday, May 13
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 17 - 4
Saturday, May 14
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 7
Sunday, May 15
vs. Michigan
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 4
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS