Bruins Sweep UC San Diego

Jan. 26, 2002

The top-ranked UCLA men's volleyball team defeated UC San Diego 3-0 Saturday in its conference opener.

The Bruins (7-1, 2-0) won 30-28, 30-21, 30-22 in 81 minutes before 637 fans at the John Wooden Center. The Tritons fell to 0-5 overall and 0-4 in league play.

Senior outside hitter Matt Komer and junior quick hitter Chris Pena each spiked 12 kills to lead the Bruins, who hit .387 on the night. Komer also added five block assists as the Bruins out-blocked the Tritons, 10.5-6.5. Junior setter Rich Nelson recorded 34 assists and freshman Jonathan Acosta added nine kills (.353).

Senior Griffin Cogorno and sophomore Shawn Oksenendier each recorded nine kills to lead UCSD. The Bruins will host Long Beach State Thurs., Jan. 31 at 7 p.m. in Pauley Pavilion.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Wednesday, Mar 02
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
(21-25, 25-22, 25-18, 25-18)
Friday, Mar 04
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
(25-22, 25-15, 25-23)
Monday, Mar 07
vs. Ball State
Los Angeles, CA
(25-19, 25-18, 25-20)
Friday, Mar 11
vs. Concordia
Los Angeles, CA
(25-23, 25-21, 25-18)
Thursday, Mar 24
at CSUN
Northridge, CA
(19-25, 25-20, 23-25, 25-16, 15-7)
Saturday, Mar 26
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
(25-22, 25-22, 25-22)
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Brigham Young
Los Angeles, CA
(17-25, 25-19, 25-27, 13-25)
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. Brigham Young
Los Angeles, CA
(25-20, 20-25, 18-25, 23-25)
Thursday, Apr 07
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
(27-25, 25-18, 25-22)
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
(25-18, 21-25, 25-16, 25-23)
Saturday, Apr 16
vs. Hawai'i
Los Angeles, CA
(25-16, 25-16, 22-25, 25-21)
Thursday, Apr 21
vs. Long Beach State
Provo, UT
(26-24, 28-26, 25-19)
Saturday, Apr 23
at Brigham Young
Provo, UT
(20-25, 19-25, 25-18, 15-25)
Thursday, May 05
vs. Ohio State
University Park, PA
(25-22, 22-25, 21-25, 25-20, 16-18)
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS