Top-Ranked UCLA Prepares for USC

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

March 18, 2002

The top-ranked UCLA men's volleyball team, which is riding an eight-match winning streak, returns after a one-week recess before embarking on its toughest road trip of the season.

In a two-week stretch beginning Mar. 27, the Bruins will travel to USC, Pepperdine and Hawaii for key conference matches that will determine the MPSF race and the all-important seedings for the league championship tournament. If the Bruins win their final six league contests, they will earn the league's top seed and the home court playoff advantage.

On Wed., Mar. 27, the Bruins (22-3, 14-2) meet USC (5-18, 2-15) at 7 p.m. in the Lyon Center. The match will be televised by FoxSports and aired on a delayed broadcast on Mar. 30.

The Bruins lead the series with the Trojans, 74-29, and have won four straight and 17 of the last 18 matches dating to 1992.

On Sat., Mar. 30, the Bruins travel to Pepperdine for a 7 p.m. match at Firestone Fieldhouse. The first-place Waves (20-4, 15-2) twice defeated third-place Hawaii (15-6, 12-4) over the weekend.

The Bruins and Waves have split a pair of matches this season. Pepperdine won, 3-0, on Jan. 12 in the final match of the Wyndham Gardens Hotel tournament, hosted by UC Irvine. UCLA won, 3-2, on Feb. 7 at Pauley Pavilion. The Bruins lead the series, 66-20, and have won seven of the last 10 in Malibu, including four straight. On Feb. 3, 2001 at Firestone Fieldhouse, the Bruins gave Coach Al Scates his 1,000th career victory with a 3-1 decision over the Waves.

Finally, UCLA will travel to Hawaii on Apr. 5 & 6 for a key, two-match league series. In January, the Bruins won their fourth straight and sixth overall Outrigger Hotels Invitational, hosted by Hawaii. The Bruins defeated the host Warriors, 3-0, in the championship match. UCLA leads this series, 41-10, and has won five straight and six of the last seven at Hawaii's Stan Sheriff Center.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Jan 03 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. British Columbia
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Jan 05 - 4:00 PM PST
at George Mason
Fairfax, VA
Thursday, Jan 07 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Ohio State
University Park, PA
Friday, Jan 08 - 4:30 PM PST
at Penn State
University Park, PA
Friday, Jan 15 - 7:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Saturday, Jan 16 - 7:00 PM PST
at UC San Diego
La Jolla, CA
Wednesday, Jan 20 - 7:00 PM PST
at Cal Baptist
Riverside, CA
Saturday, Jan 23 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Monday, Jan 25 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Princeton
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Jan 27 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Jan 29 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 05 - 9:00 PM PST
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
Saturday, Feb 06 - 9:00 PM PST
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
Thursday, Feb 11 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 13 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 19 - 7:00 PM PST
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 11:00 AM PST
at Stanford
Maples Pavilion- Stanford, CA
Wednesday, Feb 24 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Cal Baptist
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 8:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA