Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
Men's Volleyball Opens with Alumni Match Saturday
By: UCLA Athletics

Jan. 4, 2002

The 2002 UCLA men's volleyball season begins Saturday, Jan. 5 with the annual Alumni match, scheduled for 7 p.m. in Pauley Pavilion. Admission is free.

Head Coach Al Scates welcomes back seven lettermen and four starters from last year's team that finished 24-8 and advanced to the NCAA finals. Among others expected to start for the Bruins will be senior Matt Komer (outside hitter) and juniors Rich Nelson (setter), Cameron Mount (outside hitter) and All-American Scott Morrow (quick hitter).

Scates also has assembled a formidable alumni squad, featuring some All-Americans, recent Olympians and NCAA Championship team members. Expected to compete for the Alumni are: former four-time All-American Paul Nihipali, beach volleyball standout Kevin Wong and two-time player of the year Jeff Nygaard. Other former standouts who are expected to play are: former All-American Tom Stillwell, 2000 Olympian Mark Williams and two-time Olympian Erik Sullivan.

"Our alumni team will be ready to win this match," said Scates, who begins his 40th season at the helm of UCLA volleyball.

The UCLA varsity defeated the Alumni last season, 3-1.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Jan 03 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. British Columbia
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Jan 05 - 4:00 PM PST
at George Mason
Fairfax, VA
Thursday, Jan 07 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Ohio State
University Park, PA
Friday, Jan 08 - 4:30 PM PST
at Penn State
University Park, PA
Friday, Jan 15 - 7:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Saturday, Jan 16 - 7:00 PM PST
at UC San Diego
La Jolla, CA
Wednesday, Jan 20 - 7:00 PM PST
at Cal Baptist
Riverside, CA
Saturday, Jan 23 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Monday, Jan 25 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Princeton
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Jan 27 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Jan 29 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 05 - 9:00 PM PST
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
Saturday, Feb 06 - 9:00 PM PST
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
Thursday, Feb 11 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 13 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 19 - 7:00 PM PST
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 11:00 AM PST
at Stanford
Maples Pavilion- Stanford, CA
Wednesday, Feb 24 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Cal Baptist
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 8:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA