TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
Men's Volleyball Opens with Alumni Match Saturday
By: UCLA Athletics

Jan. 4, 2002

The 2002 UCLA men's volleyball season begins Saturday, Jan. 5 with the annual Alumni match, scheduled for 7 p.m. in Pauley Pavilion. Admission is free.

Head Coach Al Scates welcomes back seven lettermen and four starters from last year's team that finished 24-8 and advanced to the NCAA finals. Among others expected to start for the Bruins will be senior Matt Komer (outside hitter) and juniors Rich Nelson (setter), Cameron Mount (outside hitter) and All-American Scott Morrow (quick hitter).

Scates also has assembled a formidable alumni squad, featuring some All-Americans, recent Olympians and NCAA Championship team members. Expected to compete for the Alumni are: former four-time All-American Paul Nihipali, beach volleyball standout Kevin Wong and two-time player of the year Jeff Nygaard. Other former standouts who are expected to play are: former All-American Tom Stillwell, 2000 Olympian Mark Williams and two-time Olympian Erik Sullivan.

"Our alumni team will be ready to win this match," said Scates, who begins his 40th season at the helm of UCLA volleyball.

The UCLA varsity defeated the Alumni last season, 3-1.

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Jan 03
vs. British Columbia
Los Angeles, CA
25-19, 25-15, 25-14
Tuesday, Jan 05
at George Mason
Fairfax, VA
25-23, 25-12, 25-20
Thursday, Jan 07
vs. Ohio State
University Park, PA
(24-26, 25-22, 25-22, 25-22)
Friday, Jan 08
at Penn State
University Park, PA
(25-23, 22-25, 25-18, 21-25, 15-8)
Friday, Jan 15
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
(25-19, 24-26, 25-23, 25-23)
Saturday, Jan 16
at UC San Diego
La Jolla, CA
(25-18, 25-17, 25-14)
Wednesday, Jan 20
at Cal Baptist
Riverside, CA
(27-25, 25-21, 25-12)
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
(27-25, 23-25, 25-21, 25-19)
Monday, Jan 25
vs. Princeton
Los Angeles, CA
(25-19, 25-23, 25-16)
Wednesday, Jan 27
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
(23-25, 22-25, 25-19, 25-22, 15-13)
Friday, Jan 29
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
(20-25, 25-23, 27-25, 25-19)
Friday, Feb 05
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
(25-18, 20-25, 23-25, 18-25)
Saturday, Feb 06
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
(22-25, 25-22, 19-25, 25-18, 15-9)
Thursday, Feb 11
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
(17-25, 25-18, 23-25, 26-24, 18-20)
Saturday, Feb 13 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 19 - 7:00 PM PST
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 11:00 AM PST
at Stanford
Maples Pavilion- Stanford, CA
Wednesday, Feb 24 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Cal Baptist
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 8:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Mar 02 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 7:00 PM PST
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
Monday, Mar 07 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Ball State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Concordia
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Mar 24 - 7:00 PM PST
at CSUN
Northridge, CA
Saturday, Mar 26 - 7:00 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Brigham Young
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Brigham Young
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Apr 07 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 16 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Quarterfinals
TBA
Thursday, Apr 21 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Semifinals
TBA
Saturday, Apr 23 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Championship
TBA
Thursday, May 05 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Championships
University Park, PA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS